Storytelling 101: Stephen King’s 1408

Delving into the Narrative Abyss with King’s 1408

Jimmy Blakemore
SYNERGY
Published in
6 min readNov 1, 2023

--

Introduction

There is one story that had a profound influence on me as a writer. This story, an eerie yet entrancing world, is “1408” by Stephen King.

The story ushers readers into a realm where the mystique of King’s storytelling prowess reigns supreme.

As a tale that extends beyond mere horror, it ventures into the psychological intricacies of character development and the artistry that is storytelling.

Here we will take a closer look at some of the themes and techniques King uses and how they can be applied to your own writing.

Experiencing “1408”

I remember the first time I encountered “1408.” I found a copy of the film at Walmart and my parents bought it for me.

You know, the one starring John Cusack and Samuel L. Jackson.

Later that evening, I was sitting on the couch in my grandmother’s living, the sun was starting to set, and the DVD was in the player, ready to be watched.

The emotional and introspective narrative style was unlike anything I had witnessed before.

--

--

Jimmy Blakemore
SYNERGY

Author | Editor | MFA in Creative Writing Candidate | BA in Creative Writing & English| Poynter ACES Certificate in Editing | Horror Writers Association Member