The Simple Post-it Note That Turned Me into a Bestselling Author

Caroline Mitchell
SYNERGY
Published in
3 min readApr 22, 2024

--

Pen writing manifest
Image sourced from Canva by artist Hailshadow.

Imposter Syndrome

When I started writing, there was a period when I doubted myself and imposter syndrome hit hard. Sometimes I’d sit at my desk in work and negative thoughts would creep in. Who am I kidding? I asked myself. I was a police officer, not an author. I had responsibilities and bills to pay.

Then came a turning point: I replaced my doubts with a post-it note mantra, tucked secretly into my purse. Changing my mindset played a pivotal role when it came to my author career.

Caroline Mitchell Author holding up her book, The Last Guest House.
Image copyright of author

My Mantra

The mantra on my post-it note was a simple but powerful goal. I placed it in my purse so I’d carry it with me every day. The five words that I’d written helped me visualise leaving my full time job and writing full-time.

Manifestation isn’t for everyone. But what have you got to lose? Some might say that if you’re not willing to open yourself up to the power of intensified goal setting, perhaps writing isn’t truly your dream. In a highly competitive world, writing and publishing require not just talent, but grit and perseverance too. But guess what — you’re…

--

--

Caroline Mitchell
SYNERGY

NYT, USA Today, Washington Post and international #1 bestselling thriller author with 2M books sold. Ex-police. Writing course provider. www.carolinemitchell.co