Meaningful Engagement

What Medium-the-hypocrite purports to foster

Marcus aka Gregory Maidman
SYNERGY
Published in
3 min readFeb 26, 2021

--

by IgorVetushko licensed from depositphotos.com

GranPa-Festus’s story is the quintessential example of my tag that I created today--"Meaningful Engagement." (The subtitle of the instant piece is discussed in section two below). I have to credit the writers from whose stories I learned the concept, like Julia E Hubbel, as discussed here:

I am thrilled that my friend Holly Kellums has synchronously picked up my energy in her soon to be released creation, described by her thusly:

"These are the stories that the people loved the most. I will choose them based on that, then read them and comment. Once a week. ILLUMINATION main only--for now. I am sorting through hundreds of stories, so if you have anything throughout the week that you don't want me to miss, please send it my way. I am looking for the stories loved the most by the most people with meaningful engagement, clap counts can be an indicator but are irrelevant as this is based on number of fans and comments as opposed to number of claps."

Well done Holly. These are lists that I will look forward to reading on whatever interval you release them. You could just go with the flow instead of having a regular interval.

Now I have the synchronous opportunity to present two writing tips on repurposing content. But as this story is a response and I have a theory that the algorithms do not treat it the same as a story created anew, that is what I shall do. After I create that story, I will edit this one to include the link.

Meaning of the subtitle revealed

As for my subtitle, I say “purports” because while Medium has created the opportunity for such content, it also allows defamation to stain its pages and does nothing to punish the abuser.

On January 7th I exposed Jonathan Greene and the Assemblage for the libel of several publications:

A month later I made formal a demand upon Medium for redress:

A reader-writer, Jonica Bradley, engaged with me in that story as follows:

I don’t actually understand the point of this entire story, though. Are you actually going to sue this person for defamation or are you just stirring the pot for drama’s sake? Granted, I do not believe Illumination is a pyramid scheme, but I also don’t believe anybody’s livelihood has been affected. Mine certainly hasn’t.

I don’t know you, so am not attacking you or trying to stir up drama. But I would genuinely like to know the point to this defamation story.

I responded to Ms. Bradley’s meaningful engagement with this on-point-response:

The story is a copy of the actual letter served upon Medium demanding damages from both parties and Mr. Greene’s removal, to which Medium has not yet responded; nor has Mr. Greene, who is undoubtedly liable for his libel under California law. I do not understand why Medium has not removed his account. With all the talk in DC about eliminating Sec 230 of the CDA, one would think Medium would act in accordance with the intent of the act, which is clearly stated in the legislative history, and appropriately self-moderate defamatory content. That is all I am willing to say for now. But, you may find this story informative.

Accountability and responsibility to mitigate the karmic debt of the sinner as well as the saint

Thank you for reading and I look forward to your meaningful engagement.

I Rama I create,

Marcus

--

--

Marcus aka Gregory Maidman
SYNERGY

Living 17,043rd human life. I am Marcus (universal name) or you may call me Greg; a deep thinker; an explorer of ideas and the mind.