WRITING

What Should Be The Length Of My Article?

Short and crisp is the answer

Dr. Preeti Singh
SYNERGY
Published in
4 min readAug 8, 2023

--

Photo by lilartsy on Unsplash

This article is drawn from questions asked by new writers to me on Medium.

We must understand that Medium is a blog and not an academic research study. Even if we do research we still have to write an article and it has to be of interest to our audience.

Research writing is very different. To write a thesis you have to be technical and meticulous and it is usually long. It has to define a problem, collect data, analyze it, and prepare a report.

Let us look at Medium

The one question that I am constantly faced with my new writers is:

What length should my article be on Medium?

Write a length that does not bore me. 😃This is the answer I want to give. Make it short and crisp. Something that holds my attention till the end.

You all know that it is an era of an attention-deficient audience. Short attention spans, too much to do and so many alternatives of social media to keep me busy.

Not my fault. I just need to keep doing different things. So spare me long boring articles.

The next question that comes is what length…

--

--

Dr. Preeti Singh
SYNERGY

Doctorate in Finance, Professor, Author, I write about Life’s experiences, edutech. 9xTop writer.