What They Don’t Tell You About Self-Help Books

And How That ONE Book Stood Out For Me

Sarvam Fating
SYNERGY
3 min readMay 26, 2024

--

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

“You can’t pick the ‘best’ unless you’ve tried it all.”

This saying hits closely when it comes to self-help books.

Have you ever picked up a new book, hoping it will literally hand out the secrets to happiness, success, or personal growth, only to be disappointed by the end?

What if, even after reading 10–20 books in that genre, you still feel unfulfilled and unchanged?

The Self-Help Book Dilemma

Let’s face it:

Self-help books have become a booming industry, with thousands of titles promising to change your life.

However, the harsh reality is that 90% of them offer little more than temporary dopamine hits. They make you feel good while reading, but once you finish, you quickly forget the lessons and go back to your old habits.

This cycle makes me question how genuinely ‘helpful’ these books are.

Luckily, there’s one book that stood out for me:

The Art of Self-Respect” by Alex Mathers

Why “The Art of Self-Respect” Stands Out

Tone

One of the first things that struck me about this book is its conversational tone.

Reading it felt like having a heart-to-heart with a wiser, past version of myself. The wisdom shared is relatable and easy to understand, making it feel less like reading a book and more like receiving advice from a trusted friend.

Meat

Another standout feature is the book’s conciseness.

Each chapter is only 2–3 pages long, ensuring that every word counts. This makes the book an easy and engaging read, perfect for those of us who might not have hours to dedicate to reading each day ( I only spend 20 minutes reading, 3–4x/weekly).

Action Steps

Perhaps the most valuable aspect of “The Art of Self-Respect” is the practical ‘Action Steps’ at the end of each chapter.

These steps helped me apply what I’ve just learned, making sure that the lessons stick and become part of my daily life. It’s this that sets the book apart from others in the genre.

Who Is This Book For?

I’ve spent many years struggling with people-pleasing, always putting others’ needs before my own.

This pattern was exhausting, and I knew I needed to change. “The Art of Self-Respect” came into my life at the perfect time and provided the tools I needed to break free from this cycle.

One of the most impactful quotes from the book is:

“If you’re available, your presence is in abundance. Abundant things rarely attract a high price. Human brains pick this up, even if the person running the show sucks at maths.

Bottom Line

While “The Art of Self-Respect” made a huge impact on my life, I understand that everyone’s journey is different. What works for one person might not work for another.

So, what’s the only book that stood out for you?

--

--