What’s Love Got to Do with It

Hammad Khalid
SYNERGY
Published in
3 min readJul 7, 2022
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

I lost a loved one, and I witnessed death in my family. He was only 36 years old. What kind of a world are we living in when you lose someone at just 36. We aren’t living in the 10th century, with a life expectancy between 25 and 36 years. This situation got me thinking about what we are doing and heading.

I have been comparing myself with my peers being a naysayer, self-loathing and complaining. This was a wake-up call.

We have been taught that boys don’t cry from the culture I come from, and I believe it should have been we don’t make others cry. We have been building up stress, hatred, and unnecessary tension, which has had a trickle-down effect.

I prayed for my firstborn to be a daughter. She is the most beautiful young lady I have ever seen (dad bias). However, I started to note that in the stressful world we live in, I take out my stress on her, forgetting that she is the love of my life. My Secondborn suffers the same fate. I’ve been married for eight years, and I only recently realized that I have hardly expressed my love or even said, “I love you” to my spouse. It’s not that I don’t care or don’t know how. I feel that I have become inexpressive due to our lifestyle.

photo by author

Realization hit me hard; what the f*** am I doing? Is this the real me? I started searching for how to change, what I am doing wrong, life is short, and we never know when it’s curtains for us. Is this the life I wanted? I couldn’t take it anymore. I was done, done with all of it.

My mentor has been telling me from the start to love myself, and I never took it seriously until now. I was given the book” Love yourself like your life depends on it” by Kamal Ravikant.

In the book, Kamal Ravikant shares his own experiences of overcoming obstacles and living life on his terms, providing us with the tools to develop our self-love.

Why love?

The psyche is wired for love, and the body also knows it. It realizes that affection sustains that delicate love and that love is tolerating, and it recognizes that affection mends.

As you love yourself, life loves you back. I don’t think it has a decision by the same token. I can’t make sense of how it functions; however, I realized it was valid.

“Your task is not to seek for love, but merely to seek and find all the barriers within yourself that you have built against it.”

― Rumi

Here we are, thinking that one needs to be in love with another to shine, to feel free and shout from the rooftops, but the most important person, the most important relationship we’ll ever have, is waiting, is craving to be loved truly and deeply.

And here’s the interesting part. When we love ourselves, we naturally shine; we are naturally beautiful. That draws others to us. It’s up to us to choose who to share our love with.

As an astute companion likes to remind me, this is training. You don’t go to the exercise center once and view yourself as done. Exactly. Contemplation is training, and working out is training. I am loving myself, maybe the most significant of all training.

Claps and comments will be appreciated; you can follow me for more stories like this one ;)

--

--

Hammad Khalid
SYNERGY

A holistic coach who worries about others wellbeing