Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

WRITING THAT RESONATES

Why Your Writing Isn’t Getting the Attention It Deserves: 4 Key Factors

The journey to making your writing stand out.

SYNERGY [Newsletter Booster]
3 min readDec 8, 2023

--

Like me, if you’ve been writing for some time and feel your work is largely going unnoticed, believe me, I understand.

We live on a planet with 8 billion people.

Today, everyone has access to the internet and it means you are competing with a lot of creators.

Discoverability is only going to get more difficult.

I’ve been writing for some time now and here are 4 key factors why your writing isn’t getting the attention it deserves:

1. Forever Game

Today, more work than ever is uploaded daily than we’ve had across decades.

Thanks to this, most of the work we see and come across is mediocre.

Standing out is becoming more and more difficult.

Ask yourself, how long have you shown up?

If you think a week, two weeks, or four weeks is going to be sufficient, think again.

You are probably new, no one knows what you are capable of.

You need to build trust.

You build trust by showing up.

It isn’t a short-term game. It is a forever game.

Readers will only come when they see you’re in it for the long haul.

2. Developing Your Voice

Yes, you are unique and so is your voice.

But have you had the chance to develop it?

I’ve published ~300 articles this year alone, but I’m still in the process of finding and refining my voice.

I’m still developing it.

Ask yourself, do you know why people should trust you and follow you? If you can’t answer this — you still have some way to go.

3. Consistency is the Name of the Game

How consistent are you?

It took me 8 months of daily posting to find some traction.

Yet, just two months later, my traction is slipping away faster than I had built it.

Maybe writing once a week is enough. But are you doing it every single week?

Even if you do, you’d have to do it for a long time.

Once someone stumbles upon your work and likes it, they need to see more proof to trust you enough and read your work consistently.

4. Are You Too Self-Centered?

One of the coolest hacks to find more readers is to engage with the content of other creators.

If you aren’t doing it, you are losing out.

Apart from being consistent, this is how I gained traction on my content.

I haven’t been doing it for a few weeks now and my numbers have started plummeting.

It requires an all-round effort. So stop focusing only on yourself and start engaging with other accounts.

We are living in the attention economy, I’m sure you know it.

Businesses, social media platforms, OTTs, humans, etc. are constantly trying new techniques, shortcuts, and hacks to grab your reader’s attention.

Our email lists have become the gold standard.

You have to be extraordinarily consistent, extraordinarily authentic, or extraordinarily good to grab your reader’s attention.

What are you doing to get there?

--

--

SYNERGY [Newsletter Booster]

Prioritizing writing, experiments, failure and growth. Committed to write 365 days straight! Come say hi :)