Mental Health & Writing

Here’s How to Cure Writer’s Block with Proven Techniques.

How I fixed it, transformed myself into a prolific writer, and helped many writers improve with six easy tips.

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
SYNERGY
Published in
11 min readOct 16, 2021

--

Photo by Oladimeji Ajegbile from Pexels

Introduction

Even though some deny it, writer’s block is real. I struggled with it years ago, and I observed it in many writers in my circles. However, nowadays, I experience the opposite pattern of writer’s block, known as hypergraphia in the literature.

As the term “hypergraphia” is a medical condition caused by altered brain chemistry associated with temporal lobe epilepsy, I’d like to redefine the medical term associated with mental health within my article’s context for clarity.

I have no epilepsy, and neither do many prolific writers that I know. So, my urge to write is not a brain condition. Instead, it is a lifestyle choice. Like many professional writers, I rewired my brain for the intense desire to write years ago. This skill was essential for me. It helped me become a prolific writer in my discipline, serving as a vital capability for my professional and personal life.

Writer’s block is a psychological situation. But it also has a biological component as it is related to…

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
SYNERGY

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com