Writing About Medium on Medium

Is that what Medium is for?

Saba
SYNERGY
2 min readMar 23, 2024

--

Photo by the author

I have been an avid reader and writer on Medium for a week now, and I always make sure to read entire articles before commenting on others’ work.

However, I have noticed a trend: stories garnering the most attention (views, claps) often discuss Medium itself, earnings on the platform, or related lessons.

While building a strong profile is important, shouldn’t Medium be more than just writing about Medium?

My passion lies in personal diary writing and sharing life lessons. I joined to connect with others who offer similar experiences.

I engage actively: even if I struggle to understand an article, I take time to ask clarifying questions or leave encouraging comments.

My goal isn’t to be fake, but to genuinely contribute to the community.

Recently, I have observed an increase in “writing about Medium on Medium” content, likely driven by audience preference.

While I understand the focus on earnings may be prevalent, my genuine concern lies elsewhere.

However, my concern is: are we limited to writing about Medium itself to gain traction? This feels too business-oriented for me.

I would rather cultivate an organic audience genuinely interested in my writing, and vice versa.

This way, we can learn and grow together.

Why are we so focused on the “earning matrix” on Medium? This constant pursuit hinders true peace.

Remember, writing is about sharing knowledge while reading expands your own. However, staying within the same niche limits your growth.

Embrace diverse stories, regardless of the author’s background.

Genuine engagement is key. Leave thoughtful comments, not just a chase for Medium hacks.

A story might get a temporary boost by focusing on Medium itself, but that’s a short-term gain.

I seek connections with those genuinely interested in my writing, and vice versa.

I read all comments, check profiles, and reciprocate by engaging with their stories.

Remember, a well-written comment reflects whether you have truly read the entire piece.

Why the rush?

Let’s prioritize meaningful connections and mutual support on our journey to success. Together, we can all thrive.

A big thank you to those who made it this far!

I encourage you to explore other stories on Medium as well. Remember, there’s a beautiful balance in life — giving and taking, learning and sharing.

Let’s create a space where we grow together.

Life is precious, so let’s embrace it to the fullest.

While financial security is important, true fulfillment comes from enriching experiences and diverse perspectives.

--

--

Saba
SYNERGY

Quiet heart with a writer's soul. Weaving real-life experiences into words, finding connection through listening, reading, and writing.