Writing and AI

Yes, I’m Human. No, I Don’t Have To Sound Like You

Addressing the common questions around AI and why the approach needs to change.

Tyler Lubben BBA
SYNERGY [Newsletter Booster]
3 min readMay 2, 2024

--

Photo by Andrea De Santis on Unsplash

Hello. This post is not going to sound like my typical article but is instead a quick post to address the people out there who are questioning my writing and accusing me of using AI.

Please be respectful when you confront someone about their writing. I have struggled all my life with ASD and fitting in and I don’t take lightly to being accused of something I am not.

There is far too much hostility on this platform around the changes that happened on May 1st and the behavior of some of my fellow writers is disappointing to see.

Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

This change to banning AI is starting to feel like a reoccurrence of the Salem Witch Trials. Please remember that words and opinions carry weight and don’t make false accusations just because of your beliefs or assumptions. There is danger in jumping to conclusions.

Medium is addressing the issue of AI and there is no need to publicly shame others or make accusations. We, as a community, should allow Medium to make changes and suspensions where necessary.

I’m not sure how they’re approaching the removal of AI since there is no foolproof way of doing so but I would rather trust Medium than to keep seeing false accusations tossed around.

To read more on what I am talking about regarding AI, I recommend checking out the two articles below to see why AI detection software is nearly useless in identifying AI.

There are countless factors that may impact the style of someone’s writing. We all are unique in our own ways and that doesn’t mean there is any right way of writing. Just because someone doesn’t sound how you expect a “writer” to sound doesn’t mean they are cheating or trying to fool the system.

Everyone thinks differently and there are factors that can impact how someone writes outside of their control. Just look at the example of an autistic professor at Purdue who was falsely accused by a colleague for being AI.

Accusing people of being AI can be damaging to their psyche and be emotionally harmful. Please be careful and delicate when broaching this topic. I know, from experience, that it can be frustrating and hurtful.

We all are just trying to enjoy this platform and engage in the community.

Now, there are obvious examples of AI that even I would confront. Some of these are when there are more than 20 articles posted by one writer in a day, all their posts use the same cover image, etc. This is behavior that is damaging to the community and should be addressed. But, if someone is an active member in the Medium community, engages with others and interacts, maybe think twice before making an accusation.

Thank you for listening to my thoughts on this topic and I hope we can approach the usage of AI with more tact in the future. I wish all of you fellow writers nothing but the best!

Loved what you just read? 👏 Show your support with a clap! Or better yet, drop me a comment with your thoughts, or highlight your favorite part. Each clap, comment, and highlight boosts my visibility and sparks more conversation — so don’t be shy; interact away! 🌟💬✨

Want to transform your life with advice that matters? Get practical tips delivered straight to your inbox. 🌟 Subscribe to my FREE newsletter today and start making meaningful changes! ✨

Subscribe Now

--

--