Your Passion Will Hurt You, Your Interests Will Fulfill You.

Manu Kiza
SYNERGY
Published in
4 min readAug 24, 2022
Photo by Chandan Chaurasia on Unsplash

Your passion and interests can be oddly correlated but both won’t provide you with the support you truly desire. It may take you some time to define this trait but it will find its way to you if you desire it strongly enough.

Take it from a personal standpoint, as I am now only realizing this in my thirties. Your passion alone will never be enough to find what you are seeking, fulfillment. See, your passion comes from the heart and gut but sometimes your soul and purpose do not align with that said passion. And that is the slippery road you should avoid at all costs, and when I say avoid, I only mean that you should try to identify the path that will serve you best. The path of least resistance isn’t always the best route but it can surely allow you to gasp for air while being submerged by this thing we call “LIFE”.

I was very fortunate as I was able to identify what I wanted my life to look like very early on since I was confronted by it on a daily basis. I haven’t talked much about my area of work because although it shouldn’t define me, at times it does and I may have let it become such without purposely doing so.

I am what you can call a professional athlete and have been extremely blessed with amazing opportunities to travel abroad and around the world, to countries I didn’t know existed, and meet people with the kindest of hearts and utmost appreciation for life. And this in return landed me on the Western Coast of the USA for the last 18 years, or so, doing what I have loved and known best; entertainment. An area of expertise that many scrutinize as non-viable, non-stable, or not actual work, but trust me, all of those are misconceptions. Not only have I been able to build an amazing life for myself, but also work in close contact with amazing other athletes as well as many celebrities. Yes, this is a lifestyle that allowed me to work on TV shows, TV and print commercials, and movies, to name but a few.

Some may call this scary, dangerous, awesome, lucky, or a passion, but in truth, it isn’t and never was. Had I followed my passion, I would’ve become a psychologist, because I love inspiring and helping people to my core. Instead, I followed what I was interested in most and what provided me with an outlet to be able to express myself at the same time. I am able to do just what I set out to do by inspiring people around the globe and helping them find perspectives or viewpoints they weren’t privy to. Working with people from different backgrounds and ethnicities, views, and cultures and all the while learning from them. The constant exchange and influx of genuineness are exhilarating and I am so very grateful for sports, as it has allowed me to not only transform my life but also inspire a change in many people.

My athletic interests and thirst for gravity-defying activities that almost led my mother to a heart attack provided me with the support I needed to pursue my passion and interest while building an amazing life. This was my way and it sure will defer from yours, but don’t get caught up thinking that following your passion is the only path to fulfillment. Instead, seek out what is of true interest to you and find joy and pleasure while doing it. There is no right or wrong way to do “life”, there are however opportunities out of the norm that can lead you to the place that is designed for you only.

I am an athlete but my passion is to help people and through my athletic abilities, I am able to fulfill that dream. There are many other ways that I utilize this passion to help build more joy within and around me as well. Writing, is another “passion” of mine, hence this article and some others you may find here. I also am helping people break through personal fears and become more self-assured through life-altering and transformative exercises {this will literally turn your life upside down} with my coaching business and I am also building a brand of compostable and biodegradable products {still in the works but growing rapidly, if you have a coffee shop or restaurant, feel free to get in touch — our website is in the works of being revamped} — check out our Instagram .

“ I’ d rather live enormous than live dormant”- Jay-Z.

Make your life enjoyable, fulfilled, and passionate with tons of interest-driven projects and motivation.

Thank you for reading.

If you like this article, you may want to check out my page for similar posts and hit the follow button so you can be notified as I will be posting more content. If you have any comments or suggestions please connect with me, as I would be glad to receive any of your feedback.

--

--

Manu Kiza
SYNERGY

Contrarian thinker, challenging the way we see the world and finding roots in being an outcast.