Design Inspiration: Kiril Mucevski

Rahul KULKARNI
Technical Illustration
7 min readMay 22, 2017

Hello all! For month of May 2017, we have Kiril Mucevski as our Design Inspiration. Kiril is an Automotive Engineer who is also a Graphic Designer. For those on LinkedIn, you might have come across his profile. He has very useful posts on Automotive Repair Articles and basic know-hows. His post on 64 Titles of Dashboard Warning Lights caught my attention. I had him on my mind to publish his interview. Seldom do we get to see a prolific graphic designer come from an Engineering background. A perfect blend of creativity and logic! Lets welcome Kiril on Medium’s Technical Illustration publication.

Kiril, you come from an Automobile Engineering background, I am interested to know about you? What inspired to get you into the field of Technical Illustration?

At the beginning, I would like to say hello and thanks to all readers of this interview for the shown interest and attention, as well as to express my gratefulness to Mr. Rahul Kulkarni for the given opportunity to be a part of the Designer Inspiration Series. I really like to welcome his great idea of creating this interview series, giving anyone chance for sharing and learning from a Graphic Designers and Tech-Illustrators involved in the field. Be sure that the pleasure is all mine.

So, let’s get back to the question about me and my background: I’m an Automotive Engineer and a Freelance Graphic Designer, born and living in Skopje, the capital of the Republic of Macedonia. Besides my other job positions, I’ve been working as a technical trainer where my skills and affinity as an illustrator have given me additional opportunity to be more creative and more successful in my work. I’m an Author, Technical Illustrator and Publisher of various technical books, manuals, articles, as well as multiple power point presentations, mainly about the field of automotive diagnostics and repair. Furthermore, I’ve been working on various projects as a freelance designer of company logos, business cards, book and brochure covers, commercial flyers, multimedia packages, web graphics, web banners, web contents and similar.

Apart of the mentioned background above and working experience on the related design projects, I’ve been successful in the field of building race car engines as well as in some other engineering job roles. So, those who are willing to learn more about my other skills and accomplishments, are welcome to visit my professional portfolio and gallery here.

Regarding the inspiration what got me into the field of technical design is a bit difficult to describe in brief notes, instead I would say that it is a part of me, something emerging from within, a gift and power of being creative.

Automotive Schematic Illustrations designed by Kiril Mucevski

What is your work preference? Do you have a full-time job or freelancing is your cup of tea?

I’ve never been engaged in this as a full or a part time job, only occasionally as a freelancer. In the period between 2000 and 2008, depending of the occasion, I worked as a freelance graphic designer alongside my permanent full time job, i.e. I was involved in the graphic and web design projects for my friends or other requests from related companies. Lately, I’m creating illustrations just for my own needs and satisfaction, mainly as an addition for my articles, books and manuals.

Logo design by Kiril Mucevski

How did you get inspired to create technical books and manuals given your technical automotive field background? I am curious to know, because it is an end-user creating content for the end-user scenario.

During the working period at AMSM Roadside Assistance Club, I developed and implemented training programs for vehicle diagnostics and breakdowns, where various power point presentations on different subjects were implemented. The idea was to sum all presentations into one technical manual, so in 2010 my first manual was ready for use, compact and practical with all troubleshooting fundamentals, illustrative step by step diagnostic guides, repair tips and tricks included. The manual was intended for Road Patrolmen (Repair Technicians) as a material from trainings that I provided with. After that, I published another manual, and lately I started with publishing automotive repair articles online.

I always aim to create as much as can simple and easy understanding content, written in easy to follow style with my-own design of graphic illustrations included, fully customised according to the intended purpose. In that way, the articles would be accessible not only for automotive professionals, but also to the wider reading audience which is not so deeply and professionally involved into the automotive field. Perhaps, my skills and affinity as an illustrator are the main set of circumstances to get additional value and success of my published articles.

With a contained illustration as a part of the whole, you continue telling the story, not just to sum everything up within the content. In the written world of technical field, especially when some technical issue needs to be explained, a cool and to the point designed illustration would open an easier means of communicating, i.e. open the window for better overall success of being liked, admired or supported by many people. I highly recommend it to any writer always to strive using it as much as possible.

What software do you use to create your graphics?

The main software programs that I’m frequently using are: CorelDRAW typically for creating vector graphics and illustrations, as well as Adobe Photoshop for digital photo processing, editing and compositing. Occasionally I use other related software programs, too. Usually, I create the illustration in CorelDRAW vector format, and if it is necessary I export it in a Photoshop as an image file for further processing, since it provides better control of the photo processing features.

Self-promotion Banner created by Kiril Mucevski

Any regrets? If you could go back and do anything differently what would you do?

Everything I’ve accomplished in the design field has been a result of my own self learning process, my affinity and sense for designing, as well as my ability to pay attention to details. I’m a person with multiple skills in various fields, but my main profession in which I’m earning for living is, and I guess that will remain, the automotive technology and engineering. Maybe I need to invest in some related courses, as well as just a bit more experience and design projects to become more than a freelancer, a real professional in the field…

After all, I’m satisfied with my accomplishments and gained creativity skills in the design field, so they as an addition to my major profession are more than welcomed.

On a personal note Kiril, what is the philosophy behind educating the masses who use automobiles and seldom have clue about what certain symbol is? Your LinkedIn posts do a great job.

In my genuine belief, the vision and understanding of the networking, especially at LinkedIn as one of the most professional and largest business network, should be based on the following principles: connecting, sharing, and learning from each other!

In that direction, I’ve started developing my own personal brand and educating others with my postings, but in the same time educating myself through the readers shared feedback, comments, experienced problems, solution ideas, suggestions and so on. I usually publish articles and updates with focus on automotive systems, repair tips and tricks, as well as innovations and news within the automotive technology, and gained sizeable audience (currently about 31,000–1st degree connection including the followers) to contribute professional insights to my published posts. Unfortunately, nine months ago, I’ve reached a maximum limit of 30,000 connections and I’m no longer able to accept nor send new connection requests, so my further opportunities are abridged. Now, I’m focused on the alternative option, growing my network only with followers. To preview the published articles, please visit my LinkedIn article page here.

Web page design by Kiril Mucevski

Any advice for Technical Communicators just starting out?

Every illustration gives an opportunity for the advancement of communication!
To be successful in the design field, the Technical Communicator should be creative, imaginative, and persistent, must be able to communicate ideas visually, verbally and in writing. The Technical Communicator needs to work out on the self-discipline and effort to begin different projects, paying attention to details, etc.
Never give up, be self-confident, patient and persistent, the good things need time to become excellent. The creativity is important and it does matter into the overall work — don’t wait, create something great and useful now! All the best!

Great! A big thanks to Kiril for answering my questions. You can contact Kiril and connect with him on LinkedIn, below are his details.

Kiril Mucevski
Automotive Engineer
Email: kirilmucevski@gmail.com
www.linkedin.com/in/kirilmucevski

Wish you all a great day!

--

--

Rahul KULKARNI
Technical Illustration

Writer, Educator & Content Creator on 3D, Game Dev, Technical Training & Scale Modeling