Three intertwining concepts

Marciano Martín
Techno-dynamics
Published in
1 min readSep 13, 2018

Back in Arizona, I’m catch-ing up my research, courses, and readings (and writings, as THE PAPER). In the last three days, I’m connecting the mood about what I’m involved in the (virtual) previous and next weeks, and there are three main concepts that I’m focused: engagement, design, and narratives.

I had read about narrative and narrative methods, because I’m looking how to grasp evidence in technology appropriation, in a fair, balanced and compelling way. Narratives had the main advantage of being one of the most commons ways of thinking, and be able to transcend cultures and situatedness, without been un-earthly. This is relevant when I’m thinking about general modes of interaction between/among/beyond human and non-humans.

Design appears as the main element in human rationality/relationality, which expose intended and unintended ways of interaction/intersection. There is a critical stage in any technology (soft and hard technologies), but despite there no are technologies without design, there is a design without technology.,

Finally, engagement is the most contested concept that I found in these months. First, because I’m unable to translate its multiplicity in Spanish, as well, it’s assumed as a desirable and expected interaction/intersection. But, there are un-engaging technologies? What is the range of engagements? Or the multiplicity of stories it’s infinite and this concept is an all-in expression?

For this week I’m working in a research protocol about technology appropriation (for the Solar Spell) and my first #PublicParticipationScience (PPS) project (due next Tuesday) about a Data Visualization about categories of non-humans (mostly, technologies).

--

--