Ever wondered what ‘HDMI Matrix’ can do ?

Naman
Technology Hits
Published in
4 min readJul 10, 2024

Goal: Utilising existing spare hardware and outputting it to multiple displays at once.

So, let me straight come to the point and show you, how easy and feasible is to control and use your spare computers/laptops/Apple TV/TV box, without spending a fortune.

I will also share my current desk setup( YouTube Videos below) on how I utilised all the existing component, old age LCD TV (8 years, still rocking it) and how it all works in sync with my current setup.

Before we go back, Let me tell you what I did and what you can do to increase productivity as well using HDMI Matrix.

Source: https://www.orei.com/products/uhds202-2-in-2-hdmi-matrix-audio-extractor

What is a HDMI Matrix ?

These are basically combination of switches and splitters, what are switches and splitters ?

Really simple:

Splitters: Splits the video into two or more devices with single input, like you usually see in retail TV stores where the same video is played in multiple screens, these are often achieved by HDMI splitters.

Switches: With just one monitor or TV, you can switch, either your PC or Phone/laptop display to the monitor and switch them in seconds without restarting either of the device, just with help of one button(considering both the devices are powered on).

So, matrix is just an hybrid of switches and splitters, by which you can send any inputs to any outputs.

Setup:

Copyright by the Author: Naman Joshi

I have 2 outputs, in simple words, 2 display devices, one is my 4K monitor and one old age LCD 32 inch TV(which I wasn’t using for a while)

Multiple, Input devices, in simple words, the devices like, laptop, speakers, PC(windows or Mac), Apple TV, any spare OTT dongles, iPad.

Now, the challenge was to use, everything at once and switch to whatever it was required as per my whims.

Legend:

PBP: Picture by Picture | PC: Personal Computer(Windows) in this case.

Now, the Magic:

With the use of HDMI MATRIX, I can switch between these devices.

Currently, I’m using my 4K Monitor to show one side of the screen as an extended display to my MacBook Air, the other side of the display is used either as Apple TV or PC(windows), basically using MAC and PC at the same time ( with the feature known as PBP provided by the native 4k monitor)

but with the help of HDMI matrix, I can send the output to 2nd monitor as well and use that as my PC or vice versa(use that as my Apple TV display)

So:

4K MONITOR 1 (LEFT SIDE): Screen 1 (Macbook),

4K MONITOR 1 (RIGHT SIDE):Screen 2 (Apple TV)

LCD TV: Screen 3 (Windows PC).

With the help of HDMI matrix, I can send any inputs to any outputs here (i.e either on 4K or on LCD TV), like Apple TV on the 32'’ LCD and right side of my 4K monitor will be my PC(windows) and vice versa.

Or

I can use the full screen capability of my 4K display(not in PBP) to use Apple TV and output PC to my LCD at the same time.

Or

I can use the same video which is played in Apple TV(or PC output) and can show this on the LCD monitor, basically, splitting the same video.

With just the click of a button. (As HDMI matrix do come with up a remote)

The Audio can be also be shared, if you plug an external speaker to the HDMI Matrix(which I’m currently utilising as it wasn’t used before)

Isn’t it amazing, and on top of that, I’m able to control all my devices with just single Keyboard and mouse, No KVM switch gimmick here :)

Also, The outputs are in 4K 60Hz with HDR10 by the HDMI Matrix, considering the HDMI cables are compatible enough (60Hz and HDR10)

(Currently my TV supports up to 1080p being an old spare one, so that’s the drawback with me here) which I might upgrade later.

Let me know, if you did like the setup or have any questions, A lot can be improved in my setup(I know), which I will, the goal is not to buy and spend cash but be smart and utilise the existing spare PC and components and make sure it all works well in sync.

Happy Learning and being Tech Savvy :)

Peace.

--

--

Naman
Technology Hits

Developer | Health | Music | Travel | Lifestyle | Spirituality.