Have You Been Involved in Any Truels Lately?

Not sure what a truel is — ask a gamer

Lynda Coker
Technology Hits

--

Image by Mystic Art Design from Pixabay

How did you answer the question posed in the title of this article? If you’re a gamer, you most likely answered, yes. If you’re gaming-challenged like me, not likely. But what exactly is a truel?

A truel is a neologism for a duel among three opponents, in which players can fire at one another in an attempt to eliminate them while surviving themselves. ~Source

The word was first used in a book entitled Game Theory and Related Approaches to Social Behavior by Martin Shubik in 1964.

Did you know that Quantum Mathematics is involved with truels?

An example of a truel with swords can be observed in the movie Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest. It was fought between Jack Sparrow, Will Turner, and James Norrington.

After explaining the definition, I asked a friend if she’d ever been involved in a truel. Her answer was, “Yes, just yesterday with my husband, mother-in-law, and myself.”

I had to laugh. But she got the concept. I wonder if there were any casualties…

--

--

Lynda Coker
Technology Hits

I write about life, fictional worlds, and anything that catches my interest. I also design and create with textiles. Icky Chic Desings on Etsy