Picture It! And Other Obsolete Photo and Video Editing Software I Miss

What I use now instead for quick photo edits, and this is a slightly random entry for the 100-day Daily Writing Challenge

Julie US Writer
Technology Hits

--

Photo by Joseph Pearson on Unsplash

I use Photoshop for advanced edits and compositing, but I often turn to simple paid or free photo editing software for fast fixes that I think are too complicated in Photoshop. For quick photo edits, I really miss the Microsoft PictureIt! that I used in 2004. That was one of the first I used besides Roxio’s photo editor when making what I think should be uncomplicated changes. It also piqued my interest in making digital collages, and I recall batch editing to be easy using Picture It!.

My Days with PictureIt!

It used to be easier for me to obtain the soft edges and glow in PictureIt! than in Photoshop. I also would change hues and saturations to make multiple versions of the same bad photos into background image art. Nowadays, I could use those images as meme backgrounds because they’re light enough. The dark text would show on them.

My favorite action in PictureIt!, however, was when I batch-edited the same photos with changing the transparency, brightness and contrast, and resizing. It just seemed much easier than in some of the…

--

--

Julie US Writer
Technology Hits

Julie's face has changed over the years, but her mission is still the same.