What is The Meaning of Life?

You might be surprised by what AI has to say…

Harlan Brothers
Technology Hits
Published in
4 min readDec 8, 2022

--

AI generated image of a silhouette of a person standing under a bright night sky filled with stars and luminescent clouds. Mountains line the horizon.
Image by Author using Stable Diffusion

The new state-of-the-art AI chatbot, ChatGPT, is receiving a great deal of well-deserved attention since it was released last week. I was interested to see what the excitement was all about. When I asked ChatGPT to describe itself, it responded:

I am an AI language model created by OpenAI. I am capable of generating text based on the input I receive. I am not a real person, but a program designed to assist with tasks such as answering questions and providing information on a wide range of topics. I do not have personal experiences or memories, as I am not a conscious being and do not possess the ability to think or reason in the same way that humans do. My knowledge is based on the text that I have been trained on, and I can provide information and assistance within the scope of that knowledge. I am constantly learning and improving my language skills to better serve my users.

ChatGPT is built on a model called GPT-3 that generates text based on patterns distilled from huge quantities of text ingested from the web. It can respond to all kinds of questions, and can offer everything from coding corrections to fanciful takes on humorous situations. No one claims that it’s flawless — despite it’s impressive and authoritative style, it is often wrong, prone to bias, and its…

--

--

Harlan Brothers
Technology Hits

Researcher | Mathematician | Composer | Educator | Inventor | Editor for Cantor's Paradise www.harlanjbrothers.com