What I Learnt From A Day Of Playing Video Games

It’s more than an immersive experience

Viraj Acharya
Technology Hits

--

Photo by Sean Stone on Unsplash

For some reason, video games, Playstation, Xbox, etc… Well, they’ve always had a bad reputation when it comes to finding its place in the child-parent relationship. As a kid, I was lucky enough to have an Xbox, a black box with green details. In all honesty, it didn’t look far off what an alien could dream up. I’d never seen anything like it before!

I was a single person type of player, the multiplayer games weren’t really my style. Naturally, I fell in love with the Need for Speed franchise and it became a huge part of my childhood. I would pretend to plug my brother’s controller into the console and tell him that he was the other cars racing me on the screen. I really do owe the game a huge amount of credit for cultivating my love for cars, in fact, the automotive scene as a whole.

Probably up until the age of 15/16, I would play on and off with my brother and friends that came over, but when the games became more online-focused and complex, I began to lose interest. Playing occasionally but as a whole losing touch with the space, who knows what Call of Duty they’re on now, probably in the year 3000!

Last weekend, I spent a great deal of time playing on my brother’s PlayStation, the very same PlayStation that I tried to…

--

--

Viraj Acharya
Technology Hits

Just a guy on the internet, treating life as a series of experiments while documenting and providing value to others through my journey.