My first and not my last.

Dale Dupree
Technology Warrior
Published in
4 min readMay 22, 2017

I decided that content is something I enjoy and generally speaking I think most people love a good piece of content. crafted and blasted out into the world wide web for everyone to judge. SO JUDGE AWAY!

I have a pretty unique story, like most people, but mine is just different enough that I think you will enjoy sharing it with me. For my first blog I am going to share a piece of my book that will be coming to a kindle near you sometime in the future or possibly never if I decide not to finish writing it…

“Let’s jump right in, shall we?

There was a time in my existence that I distinctly remember when my “career life” began. I was 17 years old in a metal band that was just signed to Pluto Records, a very well renowned indie label that was famous for giving the stage to some of the biggest bands in our genre. I met my soon to be wife at this time in my life and knew exactly what my future looked like. There was one problem, money. I worked at Barney’s Coffee during my high school years for fear of going back to my father’s business and becoming “stuck” working on/selling copiers for the rest of my miserable life. Stocking coffee, making coffee drinks, serving weird but tasty little gluten based treats for hundreds of thousands of people on a weekly basis hearing the same thing over and over again, but this was my job and the choice I made to stay away from copiers. I never got use to using foreign languages to specify sizes of cups, I was a bad fit for this industry to be quite honest. I had one guy that came in every morning on Saturdays and would order a small shot of espresso and a scone which he would then eat and drink right at the counter before paying me in a $100.00 bill and leaving me a $1.00 tip, like clockwork. I will come back to this individual later in my story to explain why he was so important in my life. I felt as if my job was a medium for folks to go about their daily routine, I was their quick fix, the local coffee guy. I would pretend that people actually looked forward to seeing me once a day during their routine in order to break away for a brief moment and get lost in something different, something other than hearing customers say the same crap to them every day, or the sound of our espresso machine producing another shot of sludge, or the general banter that was passed between us during that brief moment in their routine. I was their outlet, I was something different. This was a crucial point in my life and the way I saw the working world and what my role in it would come to be. What is really funny? The story of how I left this job, I actually just got tired of it and made up some story about my health so I did not get fired nor did I technically quit the job — we just went our separate ways. It was the most bizarre thing I have ever experienced in my career. This was my first experience with confrontation in the work place as well which for whatever reason I tried to avoid, and did a great job of it. I figured at this point in my life the band was taking off and I would be rolling in dough soon enough and would not need a normal 8am-5pm, little did I know what my future would hold.”

This blog will be centered around my career and cover a lot of fun and different topics. I hope to inspire and educate those reading. We will discuss the technology realm and my role in it along with sales strategy and marketing ideas that are not your grandfathers ideas. My content might make you think “is this guy for real?” at times but I assure you that anything I speak about here I have either tried to do or have on my list of things to check-off. I promise to give it to you straight and share my failures just the same as my successes. It is my goal to help others understand what works not only in my industry but in a general sense for you to apply my behaviors to your profession to see if you can take your game to the next level.

Connect with me on my social media:

--

--