A Class of Experiential Learning: ENTI 407

Michael Vereb
Technology for Entrepreneurs
5 min readApr 6, 2020
Photo by Ricardo Gomez Angel on Unsplash

Experimental Learning.

It’s what teaches me the best. Learning through labs filled with new tools to apply to processes within a business and producing assignments that challenge your skillset is what ENTI 407 is all about. Throughout this semester, Kris Hans has been a knowledgeable resource for utilizing tools that I’ve never heard of before this class. With an ever-increasing number of start-ups and technology available, anyone can use tools to create a business or assist a current one — you just have to know where to find the means. This course opens new doors for innovation. You don’t have to reinvent the wheel; you just have to know what direction to go once you’re steering.

Which assignment did you most enjoy completing?

The structure of this class was straightforward. Labs and projects. In the labs, we learned about different tools and how to use them in a realistic business scenario. Projects were unique as a general criterion was outlined with multiple routes and methods to complete each. This meant it was up to me to get as creative as I wanted to. My favourite assignment was the interview project. For that, we were tasked with finding someone who uses tools for their business. I interviewed Mark Vella, an accomplished entrepreneur and founder of Advertiise. This pushed me to pull from my network and go out of my comfort zone to conduct an in-depth interview. I found it to be pretty easygoing in regards to asking Mark to do this since when you start with “I’m a student, and I’m doing this university project,” it usually yields good results. We interviewed Workhaus Calgary. If you don’t know where Workhaus is, I highly recommend visiting as it’s located in downtown Calgary and the view is incredible. Mark and I chit-chatted and enjoyed discussing the why’s behind the tools he uses. What other university course allows you to do all of this? Discussing with a real entrepreneur, working out of a downtown coworking space and having an insightful conversation that’s related to your class constitutes a fun project to complete. You learn a lot more when you go and do, that’s why I loved this project.

Photo of Workhaus Calgary by Truspace

At what point in the course did you feel most engaged?

Photo of Zapier’s Logo by Zapier

During this course, I was engaged in every class I went to. Primarily during our labs, where we had assigned tasks to complete using tools (websites) provided. One lab that stood out to me was when we learned how to use Zapier. Zapier is essentially a mediator between two apps or websites that can integrate them. It’s a great automation tool to use. For example, if someone buys a ticket from Eventbrite, you can automate an email to be sent to the registrant to say, “Thanks, here’s what you need to know for the event!” in place of following up with each registrant one-by-one. It is a powerful tool with lots of connected apps that can save time! I can now use this to automate processes in my future operations to help out myself!

Which part of the process was the most rewarding?

After I presented my Interview Project. Once you finish a presentation, you feel like a million bucks. I’ve presented a lot, but it usually is on something new every time, and it induces a little anxiety going up pitching what you’ve spent time on. I do enjoy presenting and talking in front of people (and making them laugh in some way or another). Presenting is a skill built over time, but the feeling after makes you feel accomplished and relieves some pressure off of your shoulders. Some tips for presenting I’ve adapted to work for me:

- Never use a script/notes (ever) A script is hard to memorize word for word, and if you don’t remember the order and words within your script, you mess up because you didn’t remember what to do when you mess up. I usually take a good look at my presentation just to know what I’ll be talking about. If you want to sound natural, be natural! Know what you’re pitching!

- Go in Smiling Have a big smile on your face before you start, it gives you some confidence to tackle your pitch!

- Use the time allotted to you to your advantage You only have 5 minutes to present? Well, that’s good, you only have 5 minutes up in front of people! Don’t be nervous about those 5 minutes.

- Incorporate laughter This depends on what you’re pitching but bring some human element into your pitch. Don’t be a robot; have some fun with your audience.

- Use Canva Mistakes happen; one thing that you can be sure of is your presentation. Make the audience go, “Wow, they spent some time to make that!”

My time in ENTI 407: Technology for Entrepreneurs has been a valuable experience. I have enjoyed and seen the applicability of what I have learned, especially with the various tools we used. Thanks to Mohammad Keyhani (creator of the course) and Kris Hans (teacher of this semester) for the new skills I have gained. It has also been great to work with my group members Chyna Brown, Jassie Kehal and Yana Gritsenko, on our new app All-In! Check out our work here!

Thank you,

Michael Vereb

--

--