ENTI 407: Self-Reflection

Chyna Brown
Technology for Entrepreneurs
4 min readApr 7, 2020
Photo by iStock/phototechno

When I first decided to take this course, ENTI 407: Technology for entrepreneurs, I did not really know what exactly I was signing up for. I love entrepreneurship and the idea of starting a company that helps solve evolving issues. I have taken many courses within the business realm and multiple entrepreneurship classes in my 5 years as an undergraduate, but this class turned into one of the most valuable classes I have ever taken. I was excited when I looked over the course outline and saw that it was all hands-on deliverables; three labs, an individual research project and a final group project. I’m a hands-on learner, so this course seemed like a perfect fit. The first three deliverables did a very good job at teaching about the technological tools entrepreneurs use to start up and run their businesses. The labs were engaging and challenging and being able to collaborate with other students made the experience that much better. The individual research project was the most exciting and valued, as I got to interview an entrepreneur within the tech field. Not only did performing an interview help me to further communication skills, but it was amazing to be able to learn more about the fascinating tech industry. The final project consisted of a team deliverable, in which my team created a health-based meal planning application.

At what point in the course did you feel most engaged?

Unfortunately, our time as a group was cut short due to the growing issue of COVID-19, but while we were still able to attend classes, I found that the labs and presentations were very engaging. The labs allowed for us to try out technological tools that entrepreneurs use in starting up and running their businesses. Personally, the lab that I enjoyed the most was the first one in which we tried out Zapier and were able to integrate social media apps to track certain words and topics within designated locations. Zapier is a one stop shop for all automation needs, where you can even automate email responses.

Photo by Vividreal

I also thought that the presentations were very engaging. Everyone presented on something completely different. For the interview deliverables it was really interesting to see who everyone chose and what field their entrepreneurs were in. It showed me that as long as you have a unique idea you can turn it into a flourishing business. For the people that did the technological tools deliverable, I really liked seeing what tools everyone suggested. Some of the technological tools I had never heard of before and it was nice to learn about new ones that I can possibly use in the future.

What skills, abilities, and concepts will you take away from this course?

A quote I came across earlier this year describes my experience with this class perfectly, “schooling doesn’t assure employment, but skill does” (Kalantri, 2019). To me, this statement could not be truer. This course did not just throw knowledge at me and expect me to learn. This course helped me development key skills in entrepreneurship and have a hands-on experience in using the technological tools that actual entrepreneurs use. My past 5 years of university as an undergraduate student does not assure that I will find a job, but the communication and writing skills that I have developed will. The skills developed in this class can help me get a job or even start my own business.

I have learned to be a critical thinker and ask the tough questions on how things can be improved. I have learned to take a step back and look at the bigger picture of how things should be done and how they can go wrong in business. The interview project taught me to expand my interests and understand that every entrepreneurs journey is different.

“Schooling doesn’t assure employment, but skill does”. — Amit Kalantri

Did you meet your goals for the course?

I surpassed my goals for this course. I thought I would be in this class and it would be like a lot of other classes I have taken in the past 5 years where professors and instructors just show you powerpoint presentations and expect you to learn. But this course required me to actually use the technological tools that I was learning about. I learn best from trying things for myself and figuring out what works for me, that is exactly what this class allowed me to do. I am so grateful that I got to take this course before I graduated. I would suggest that any student even slightly interested in entrepreneurship, take this class with Kris Hans. All the deliverables were so helpful and allowed for my creativity to flow.

I am so happy to have met the people I did and I’m very appreciative of my amazing group for coming up with an awesome project: Jassie Kehal, Michael Vereb, and Yana Gritsenko. I’m also very thankful to Kris Hans (instructor) for setting me up with an entrepreneur for my project and teaching my many valuable skills.

Thank you!

Chyna Brown

References:

Hans, Kris (2020). Lab 1 exercises: Detailed instructions [D2L Content]. Retrieved from D2L.

Kalantri, Amit (2019) Wealth of Words. Goodreads.

--

--