Getting that first internship and keeping it: Full Stack Web at a startup

Completed my first internship as a web developer. What did I learn and How ?

Eshaan Bansal
Techspace
2 min readNov 29, 2019

--

I am a sophomore pursuing Bachelors of Technology(B.Tech) in Information Technology at University School of Information, Communication and Technology, GGSIPU, Dwarka, Delhi.
For the past 3 months, I was working as a Full Stack Web Development Intern at Posify (Product of Unmudl Technologies LLP, New Delhi, India).

Posify help hundreds of food business to run their business: from secure online payments to point-of-sale solutions.

I worked on a lot of technologies( both frontend and backend ) and industrial projects, hence, I thought about sharing the path/resources I consumed in order to achieve the skills that allowed me to start writing production ready code within the first 2 weeks of the start of my internship.

Technologies I worked on:

  • a Point Of Sale (POS) Software-as-a-Service(SaaS); used Angular 8 (Nebular, ngx-admin) with Flask for backend. Available @ https://login.posify.in/
  • Developed an e-commerce food delivery PWA in Ionic (Angular 8) with Firebase backend. Available @ https://order.posify.in/
  • Writing APIs in Flask, working on celery tasks, defining complex models using SQLAlchemy.
  • Implementing and using PostgreSQL, Redis and Elasticsearch in Python/Flask.

Before my selection

I applied to their listing on Internshala. At the time of my interview I was only familiar with Flask and vanilla JavaScript. I had a few projects made in Flask up on the cloud and their domains mentioned on my resume, which really helped me. Everything else, I learned alongside work.

Resources(All completely free):

Flask:

Angular 8:

Ionic 4:

I worked on Ionic 4 towards the end and since I was already so familiar with Angular 8 by then,

End Note

I hope this was helpful for anyone who’s looking for their big break into the tech industry.

Otherwise, if you are a recruiter or an engineer who’d like to refer me at their company, I am also a bug hunter and CTF player and now looking for a cyber security internship for summer 2021.
You can find my portfolio/resume here: https://eshaan7.github.io/

Thanks for reading, keep hackin’! ~ Eshaan7

--

--

Eshaan Bansal
Techspace

21. SWE @Certego_IRT . GSoC’20 @ProjectHoneynet. I like python, typescript, linux, security, microservices. github.com/eshaan7