The Compare Game For Startup Community Leaders

Techstars
Techstars Stories
Published in
1 min readJan 28, 2019

by Chris Heivly, Entrepreneur in Residence at Techstars

My children are all adults now (that does not mean I am done being a parent) and I am reminded of one of my pet peeves that siblings seem to do all the time. That pet peeve is complaining about what they did not get as compared to what their sibling received. I used to call it the compare game and my kids all knew that was a hot button for me and thus to not use that in any of their arguments.

I find that that the same compare game is weaseling itself back into my soul as I work with startup communities around the world. We have all seen this in the rankings of various startup communities. I too am both a victim and purveyor of this. I am sorry, I am trying to rid myself of the ploy.

One of my mantras is this: Startup communities are like children — they should never be compared.

Read More

Originally published at www.techstars.com on January 28, 2019.

--

--

Techstars
Techstars Stories

The worldwide network that helps entrepreneurs succeed. #GiveFirst