Rainway: The Best Game Streaming Service?

NoSocialLife
TechTalkers
Published in
4 min readAug 19, 2020

Rainway is a new game streaming service that has a wide variety of platforms and a massive selection of games, but is it any good?

Rainway graphic (Picture Credit: PCGamesN)

Rainway is a game streaming service that’s been out for around two years but has recently gained traction because of the sheer amount of support for platforms and games that they’ve added over the last couple of months. I recently decided to try using Rainway, and I found it fantastic.

Setting Up

I wanted to set Rainway up for use on my phone, so first I downloaded the client on my PC and then installed the app on my phone. I was prompted to make a Rainway account and sign in to both applications with my account, and then scan a QR code to link the two applications together.

Connecting page

You can also connect it to AndroidTV, AppleTV (beta), and web browsers. This is great for gamers, considering that you might not have your phone on you at all times.

Once connected, you’re taken to a menu showing all of the games that they could find downloaded onto your computer. All you have to do on your phone is click a game that you want to play, and it will connect you virtually to your computer and boot up the game.

Example Rainway menu (Picture Credit: Rainway)

My Experience

The first game that I wanted to try out with Rainway was Call Of Duty, so I selected that option and booted up the game. The first thing I noticed was that I was able to connect my controller to my phone, and Rainway would pass through the inputs directly to the controller. This was a big plus for me, as playing with the on-screen gamepad would have been terrible. Also, there was no noticeable lag when I was playing, and only very slight input delay, but still extremely playable. I was able to access almost every game that I had downloaded on my computer on my phone!.

Rainway menu on iOS

You can also use this as a normal remote desktop, which is great for times where you need to access my PC on the go. The whole setup process is very quick, coming in at around 5 minutes to download, set up, and link the two clients.

Features

One reason I prefer Rainway over other software like Chrome Remote Desktop is that you have multiple ways to access your games and there are lots of features that improve the user experience. The main feature is support for controller inputs. This is important because the on-screen gamepad for PC games is not going to be as good as a real controller, and the fact that they have support makes it a lot easier to play.

Controller support on Rainway (Picture Credit: Rainway)

Another feature is being able to access it on the web, even if you don’t have a phone. This feature would be great in case of an important document needing to be read, but you only have access to a computer. It also runs very smoothly with minimal delay.

Finally, Rainway has a very active support system, especially on its Discord server. I was trying to figure out if there was support for mouse and keyboard, and within 30 minutes of asking on Discord, they replied stating that it was currently not there, but they’re developing it for iOS because of the recently added mouse and keyboard support.

Rainway is very active on Discord and will answer any questions you have

If you’re looking for a game streaming service that is highly compatible with pretty much every game and can also be accessed on multiple platforms, I would highly recommend Rainway. I’ve been using it frequently for over one month, especially when on the go, and this service has been great for me. The only downside is that you need to have the Rainway dashboard open on the host computer or the second device will not be able to connect, but other than this caveat, Rainway is great for gaming.

--

--

NoSocialLife
TechTalkers

I write articles for TechTalkers — I enjoy learning about the latest tech and aviation news! Some of my hobbies are flying planes in MFS and tinkering.