How do I plan remote user interviews with Notion, SimplyMeet.me, Rectangle, Google Meet, and Soundflower? by @charles830918

1. Plan the details of the user interview and write them down on @NotionHQ

TechTech
TechTech Official Blog
3 min readMay 16, 2022

--

  • the goal of the interview
  • the assumptions I want to validate
  • the target audience of the interview
  • the strategies of the interview
  • the process of the interview
  • the outline of the interview

2. Schedule the online user interview by @SimplyMeet_me_

e.g. https://app.simplymeet.me/techtech/interview-appointment…

3. Create a template for taking notes on @NotionHQ

So that I can take notes quickly for each interviewee with one click. I will put the questions in the notes first to help me remember the process and the questions of the interview.

4. Before the interview begins

I will move each application to one screen and resize the windows for each of them by https://rectangleapp.com

5. When the interview begins

I will ask the user for permission to record first and start recording by #Soundflower and the built-in screen recording of the Mac.

The reason that you have to use #Soundflower is you have to capture sound on your Mac. Otherwise, you will only listen to your voice when checking your final record.

You can check out the following video to know how to set up #Soundflower by @TarioSultan

How To Record Internal Audio with QuickTime Player Screen Recordingwww.youtube.com

I made another version of this video that works for newer Mac system, make sure to check it out: https://youtu.be/K7UE8fZjox4A simple trick to record your co..

6. Talk to the user

and focus on what’s their behaviors and experience to find out what’s the requirements and pain points behind them. And appreciate they help us make something people want.

7. Organize the note of the interview after each interview.

And put the insights you got in one @NotionHQ

database. This database can relate to the original notes of each interviewee so that you can check more details if you forgot.

Share the tools you use and how you use them

--

--