Review of Sequel Ace — My Favourite MySQL Client for M1 Mac

To be a great soldier, you need to find a great weapon at first.

Yang Zhou
TechToFreedom

--

The logo of Sequel Ace
The logo of Sequel Ace

A good MySQL GUI client is essential for software development. I used HeidiSQL on Windows and MySQL Workbench on Linux before. But for the new M1 Mac Mini I bought recently, I haven’t found a good tool until a discussion on Reddit attracted my attention:

a discussion on Reddit about MySQL GUI clients for M1 Mac

It’s true that MySQL Workbench crashes frequently. I don’t bother to consider installing it on my new Mac. HeidiSQL doesn’t support Mac. So I tried Sequel Ace, it became my favourite MySQL GUI tool now.

In this post, I explain 4 main reasons why it’s awesome.

1. Free, Open-Source and Easy To Install

JetBrains’ DataGrip is an impressive choice but it’s expensive. Free and open-source make the Sequel Ace stand out. We can check its source code on GitHub.

There is an interesting story for Sequel Ace. Previously, Sequel Pro is a very popular MySQL client for Mac users. But this project wasn’t maintained well and there were many issues reported on Github but no one solved…

--

--