A Weekend Away with The Violet Society

Fiona Whittington
TechTogether
Published in
2 min readMay 6, 2019

Edited by Kendra Levy

I sit on a bench alone, overlooking a pier in San Francisco. With ice cream in one hand and a notebook in the other, I consider the methodical movement of the crowds below. Similar to water, the waves of people ebb and flow but never stray. Wondering walkers, meaningful marchers, or wistful waddlers — all weave in an out of crowds to create a comforting sense of united purpose. My loneliness wanes with the sun and floats off into the bay. Back on my own path now, stomach filled with the lingering sweetness of my chocolate cone.

This past weekend, I had the pleasure of traveling to San Anselmo, California for the Violet Society’s retreat on behalf of TechTogether. While there I spent a much needed 36 hours inspired by a cohort of ambitious young women who also have an interest in entrepreneurship.

One of my favorite aspects of the retreat was how open each of the attendees was sharing their stories of success and failure. I think we all know that the journey to fulfillment is not a linear one, but reaffirmations are comforting when you’re caught in a downward slope.

Additionally, I really enjoyed the community-centric activities. I don’t think I’ve ever been to a conference before where the attendees make the food and host the workshops. The consistent group effort of providing for and supporting each other created an intimate and empowering environment.

Photo by The Violet Society

If you’re in California and you’ve got that founder’s itch, check out the Violet Society. It’s a new organization that’s growing fast with lots of opportunities for aspiring female founders. If you have any questions about their programs or would like to get involved with their organization, feel free to shoot me a message or email them directly.

--

--

Fiona Whittington
TechTogether

A marketer with a passion for startups, technology, and education.