BU Spark! and TechTogether Alumni, From Fellow to Hacker

Fiona Whittington
TechTogether
Published in
3 min readApr 13, 2021

Want to get more involved with TechTogether and BU Spark!? Applications are now open for TechTogether’s Boston Chapter Program (Apply by April 30th).

Photo of Melissaand list of roles.

Melissa Lin, Boston University ’21 Computer Science

🔗 Connect with Melissa on LinkedIn

“Being a part of TechTogether and BU Spark gave me so much insight on my goals and potential plans in tech. From TechTogether, I joined a community of women who were as interested in tech as I was. I got to learn so much from these women, from technical skills to career advice, and it really helped solidify my interest in tech.

I then was able to build upon the skills gained being part of BU Spark, more specifically through the BU Spark Fellowship. There I gained knowledge about development and the industry as a whole, as well as meet and learn from people in the industry that showed how interdisciplinary tech and what I can do to explore those areas.

Both groups have allowed me to meet new people across many different fields as well as cultivate new skills that I can use both technically and professionally. They both have inspired me to pursue a career in tech and explore different interdisciplinary areas in it and gave me confidence that I will always find a space in this every changing realm.”

Photo of Sarah and her roles

Sarah Greisdorf, Boston University ’20 Computer Science

🔗 Connect with Sarah on LinkedIn

“BU Spark! was largely where my community came from while in college. Whether I was pursuing new ideas for my startup or needed help on a problem set, I knew I could turn to my BU Spark! community for help. TechTogether gave me a chance to gain skills I would have otherwise had to wait to graduate to learn. I’m grateful for the chance to have navigated stakeholder management, logistics, and design challenges all while I was still in school.

The experiences I had working on hackathons and at BU Spark! absolutely helped me land my new job. I think being involved with programs like these while I was still in college absolutely separated me from the other applicants.”

Natalie headshot and roles.

Natalie Pienkowska, Boston University ’19 Computer Science, Business Administration, and Environmental Policy & Analysis

🔗 Connect with Natalie on LinkedIn

“How did BU Spark! and/or TechTogether impact your academic and professional pursuits?
• Helped me expand my professional and social network.
• Inspired me to continue pursuing the computer science major and to strive for a technical job, despite the challenges of being in the space as a woman.
• Helped me hone important skills such as partner/sponsor acquisition.

These are excellent spaces to make an impact and prepare you for your career.”

Lisa Vu, Boston University ’19 Computer Science and Math

🔗 Connect with Lisa on LinkedIn

“BU Spark and TechTogether not only allowed me to grow my communication and leadership skills, but also gave me an amazing network and friendship that was extremely valuable in my college life and beyond.”

Interested in attending a hackathon and getting access to more articles like this one? Subscribe to TechTogether’s bi-weekly newsletter. 💡

--

--

Fiona Whittington
TechTogether

A marketer with a passion for startups, technology, and education.