From TechTogether Hacker to Atlassian Software Engineer: Support and Belonging in the Workforce

Eva Lynch
TechTogether
Published in
5 min readApr 3, 2019

We catch up with Amber Wallace, Software Engineer at Atlassian and former TechTogether Hacker, to talk about what inclusive engineering looks like at Atlassian and to share some insights on entering the technology industry.

0) Before we get started, could you tell us about yourself and your role at Atlassian?

Amber Wallace, Software Engineer at Atlassian and former TechTogether Hacker

Hey, I’m Amber [she/her]! In the past year I moved to the Bay Area for my job at Atlassian, and since then, I’ve spent my time rock climbing, exploring all the amazing places to eat in SF, taking weekend ski trips to Lake Tahoe, doing DIY projects for my new apartment, and, of course, working as a backend software developer on Confluence, one of Atlassian’s many products.

1) What are some of the ways Atlassian has built an inclusive culture for women and non-binary engineers?

Atlassian is such a great place for women and GNC engineers for two reasons: one, our Balance and Belonging team is amazing. They work to bring more balance to our workplace and increase everyone’s sense of belonging through improving hiring practices and making sure everyone feels safe and able to be their authentic selves at work. But more importantly, Atlassians live by the value “Be the change you seek”. This means everyone at Atlassian is encouraged to take initiative and make positive change without having to wait for permission. One of our ShipIt teams painted our stairs rainbow in support of our LGBT+ coworkers. Another employee spearheaded Women* Who Kick Ass, a quarterly speaker & networking event hosted by Atlassian for women and non-binary people in tech. And, almost every week someone posts a blog detailing ways Atlassians can make this company a little bit better for everyone here. By giving every individual the power to make positive change, it’s created a culture that’s inclusive of everyone!

Pride stairs painted at Atlassian

2) Where have you found support and solidarity in other aspects of your life?

When I was in college I was part of a Lean In Circle for Women in Tech. It was a wonderful tight-knit community of women in CS. We’d give each other advice, share our experiences, vent about things that were stressing us out, and do anything we could to help each other with personal and professional endeavors. My Lean in Circle helped me get through a challenging undergrad experience and pushed me to step out of my comfort zone by accepting a position at Atlassian. Now, at Atlassian, I’m part of a small book club, and on a monthly basis we will read and discuss a book, usually one centered around personal or professional development. Having the space to discuss personal and work challenges with other Atlassians (people that I trust deeply) has helped me so much in feeling confident in my work and in finding the right balance between my professional goals and everything else that is important to me.

Atlassians at work

3) In hindsight, what advice would you give to women and non-binary individuals thinking of pursuing a career in technology?

Find people that will support you when things get challenging and then follow Shia LaBeouf’s advice, “Just do it. Make your dreams come true.”

4) What is your favorite thing about working at Atlassian?

I love how much the Atlassian values promote work-life balance. I’m a real human with interests and responsibilities outside of work, and at Atlassian I feel like that is not just accepted but valued. Atlassian enables people and teams to work remotely, so if there are days when I’ll be more productive working from home as opposed to sitting in traffic, I can do that and still be able to collaborate with my teammates. Atlassian also gives employees unlimited paid vacation, which, besides being the coolest benefit ever, allows me to take the time off that I need. When I’m working, I’m truly focused on delivering the best value possible to our customers and developing my engineering skills. So yeah, work-life balance at Atlassian is the best!

Illustration by Atlassian

5) What advice might you give to a female or non-binary engineer applying for a role with Atlassian?

Take some time to look at our company values. It might sound cheesy, but Atlassians really do live by these mantras, and learning our values is a good way to check if you can see yourself working here. And if you interview with us, asking your interviewer about a specific value, or what value resonates most with them, is a great way to learn more about our company culture. Lastly, to anyone applying, I’d say good luck and be yourself! There’s a community here that can’t wait to have even more talented women and non-binary engineers at Atlassian.

We would like to thank Amber for sharing with our team and Atlassian for not only supporting engineers of all identities, but also for supporting the empowerment of its future engineers at events like TechTogether hackathons. If you enjoyed what you read, follow TechTogether on Medium and subscribe to our mailing list below!

--

--

Eva Lynch
TechTogether

Former TechTogether Organizer and Google SPS Alum