How To Land a Tech Role During a Pandemic

Olivia Schlepphorst
TechTogether
Published in
5 min readDec 3, 2020

Hi, I’m Olivia! I graduated from Northeastern University this past May with a Bachelor of Science degree in computer science and mathematics. Any 2020 graduate without a job lined up post graduation (or with a rescinded offer) would agree — this is not the year to be job hunting. Between mass layoffs, hiring freezes, and less than ideal interviewing setups, it is a challenge… but it is NOT impossible!

In August, I accepted an offer as a software engineer at Generate Biomedicines, a startup biotech company in Cambridge that uses machine learning to extract biological principles to engineer new medicines. Between August and May were five months of preparing, practicing, interviewing, recruiters ghosting me, and a LOT of rejections. Reflecting upon my experience, there are things I wish I had done a bit differently and things I learned along the way. Through this article, I hope to share my experience with those searching for a full time tech role or a tech internship amidst this pandemic.

Staying Focused on your Job Search

Staying motivated at times during my job hunt was a challenge. The job hunt is comparable to a full time job unto itself. One thing that helped was making a weekly schedule and adhering to it. At first I set goals for each week: apply to x number of jobs, do y number of practice coding challenges, and spend z hours on a side project. To keep on track with these goals, after a month or two I began setting a daily schedule. Without this structure, there were weeks that I didn’t accomplish my goals. I felt like I was wasting time and that every future minute not spent actively contributing to my job search was a waste. With a daily plan, I was able to escape that unhealthy mentality. Choosing specific time periods each day to focus on my job search made the time I spent working more productive. I also realized it is SO important to take breaks and schedule time for the things you love (socially distanced things, of course). Working hard and rewarding yourself for achieving your daily accomplishments will help keep you motivated and active.

Preparing for the Interview

For technical interviews, there is so much to prepare and think about — I won’t get into the details here as I want to focus more on the idea of job hunting during a pandemic, but completing practice coding challenges was by far the best use of my time. Binarysearch.io is a great resource to master algorithms with friends (or solo!). Even though we couldn’t be together, working together to do coding challenges was fun and helpful.

For behavioral interviews, in addition to the typical content you would prepare, I recommend preparing a cohesive answer to the question: “what have you been up to?” This is a great opportunity to share any hobbies or side projects you might have picked up since graduation (or in your time outside of classes). For the interviewer, it shows them that you have been taking advantage of your “free time”.

Virtual Interviewing Tips

Through my co-ops in college, I had my fair share of interviews. As an introvert, the initial phone screening has always been my favorite. Not only is it the most laid back part of the interviewing process, but I could also have my notes in front of me, and I didn’t have to appear put together. Once the on-site interview rolled around, my nerves exponentially increased — no more comfortable interview setups. So, if there’s one thing I didn’t mind this past summer amidst my job hunt, it was the elimination of the dreaded on-site interview! That said, there are many different things to consider for virtual interviews. Here are a couple of tips:

Smile!

It can be difficult to establish personal connections through virtual interviews versus on site visits. My number one tip is to be extremely enthusiastic and engaged. You won’t have the opportunity to shake everyone’s hand or make small talk before officially starting the interview, so show off your personality as much as you can. Even though the interviewer’s face may be on your screen, make sure to speak into the camera to maintain eye contact. Also remember to maintain good posture and wear a professional outfit (at least a professional shirt if you’re going for the classic ‘Zoom uniform’).

Prepare/Take Notes

One big thing I took advantage of during my virtual interviews was writing down talking points and notes. After a lot of practice, most of the time I didn’t need my notes, but having them there served as a safety net. When I was especially nervous I would have them hanging above/next to my laptop. Just don’t make it obvious if you are reading off of your notes ;)

During the interview itself, I recommend taking notes on paper rather than your computer. Your interviewer will clearly see you’re writing notes rather than doing something else (plus, it’s quieter than loud keyboard clicks). The best benefit however is being able to look back at what you discussed during the call. Between the nerves and adrenaline, it can be hard to remember everything later on.

Avoid Technical Difficulties

Technical difficulties are sometimes inevitable, but most of the time they are avoidable! First, make sure your Wifi is connected. This tip almost seems trivial — why wouldn’t you check your Wifi connection? But believe me, ensuring a strong Wifi connection at least 10 minutes prior to your interview eases the mind and avoids an awkward start to an interview. Next, make sure your laptop sound is working. I learned this the hard way during an interview this summer — what was supposed to be a fifteen minute technical challenge turned into a forty-five minute ordeal ending with a rejection email. Not only was it a bad first impression, my embarrassment from the rough beginning hindered my performance.

Some last technical tips — practice opening the app or platform that will be used for the interview and ensure it works, charge your computer, have your charger ready just in case, and turn off all notifications (both on your computer and your phone!).

Prepare the Space

Make sure your interview setup is comfortable! Pick a spot with good lighting, plenty of space for your computer/other materials, and alert your family or roommates that you’ll be busy interviewing. During the interview you’ll be doing a lot of talking so make sure to have water or your favorite drink handy in case you get parched!

Finally, Don’t Settle!

Job hunting during a pandemic and economic crisis is hard. I get it. I understand the urge to accept the first offer that comes your way, but remember that company values are important! Do your research before applying to any role and make sure the company’s values align with your own. Remember that you’re interviewing the company just as much as they are interviewing you! Good luck :)

--

--