TechTogether PreHacks: Start Your Hacking Career

Camille Bell
TechTogether
Published in
3 min readDec 17, 2021

Calling all high schoolers interested in coding, hacking, and programming! Attend TechTogether PreHacks to get a first-hand experience of what it’s like to attend a hackathon, but on a smaller scale.

If you’re unsure of what to expect at our PreHacks, read below to learn more about Siya Jariwala who was a recent participant!

Photo from Siya Jariwala.

Let’s travel back in time. Not a lot, just a few weeks ago. I really wanted to attend a hackathon, but I hadn’t built up the confidence.

I had no idea how hackathons worked. I didn’t have a team to work with and had no idea how to find one.

Last, but not least, I had so many unanswered questions. Then, I happened to come across my knight in shining armor: TechTogether PreHacks–a one-day virtual learnathon with cool information sessions and fun workshops.

I was absolutely thrilled. I signed up immediately and it was one of my best decisions.

I remember the night before the learnathon, I couldn’t hold my excitement in. I gladly declined my friend’s invitation to go to the movies. She made fun of me and called me a nerd, but I accepted it. Nothing was going to stop me from attending these workshops.

TechTogether PreHacks definitely lived up to my expectations. I do not regret ditching my friend for this. It was the perfect safe space for beginners like me who are nervous about going into their first hackathon without any prior knowledge.

PreHacks was like a beginner package with everything all bundled in. For instance, there were information sessions where I got all of my questions answered and a basic understanding of how hackathons worked. Workshops were offered where I learned the basics of front-end development for the first time! There was also a guide on getting internships, and (saving the best for the last), cool LinkedIn connections participants could make!

TechTogether PreHacks completely changed my perspective on hackathons. For the longest time, I let my fear conquer me and didn’t attend a hackathon. My mind was jumbled up with a bunch of what-ifs. What if I don’t find a team? What if I am not experienced enough? What if I can’t contribute as much as the others? I could go on and on with all the doubts that were clouding my mind. TechTogether PreHacks answered all of my what-ifs.

I learned that anyone can attend hackathons regardless of their experience level, even if you don’t know how to code! I wasn’t going to be alone or the only beginner; I got to meet cool people in the Zooms who were just like me and had never attended a hackathon.

By the end of PreHacks, I couldn’t wait until the ACTUAL hackathon. I was so excited to learn more about different programming languages, meet new people, and best of all, make a cool project.

TechTogether PreHacks was the beginning of my journey of being a hacker. I plan on attending the future TechTogether hackathons as well and improving my skills as a programmer.

I would like to give a sincere “thank you” to TechTogether for hosting hackathons that promote inclusivity and diversity in tech. Thank you, for giving females, femme, and non-binary folks, the courage and foundation to dive into the tech field and attend hackathons.

The TechTogether staff was very welcoming and made sure to include entertaining activities throughout the day. I definitely recommend any first-time hackers to attend this program; it changes your entire perspective on hackathons.

Interested in attending a hackathon and getting access to more articles like this one? Subscribe to TechTogether’s bi-weekly newsletter. 💡

--

--