What’s Next for TechTogether Boston: a Q&A with Lisa Vu, 2020 Executive Director

Eva Lynch
TechTogether
Published in
4 min readJun 23, 2019

After a successful TechTogether Boston 2019, we catch up with Lisa Vu, Executive Director of TechTogether Boston 2020. Read on to learn about the new leadership within TechTogether’s Boston chapter and what’s next for TechTogether Boston.

Question 0: Before we dive in, could you tell us a bit about yourself?

Lisa Vu, Executive Director of TechTogether Boston 2020

I’m a rising senior at Boston University studying Computer Science and Applied Math. I first got involved with TechTogether Boston, formerly known as SheHacks, through participating in the OG hackathon in 2018. Later on, I joined the 2019 team as the Head of Finance, and now I’m the Executive Director of TechTogether Boston 2020.

Question 1: As the new director of TechTogether Boston 2020, what will you bring to the chapter in terms of your leadership style and experience?

I’m very honored to be the Director of TechTogether Boston this year. Watching the organization grow has been a wild ride, and I can’t wait to see how the team will evolve. I’m an executor, which means I love to set tasks and finish them one-by-one. With a more structured task assignment, I want the team to be able to make the planning process go smoothly while enjoying the experience. Additionally, I’m on my phone and my laptop more than I want to admit, but I hope that I’m always available as a resource to the team, no matter the odd hours.

Question 2: What is your vision for TechTogether Boston 2020? What do you think can be improved upon from the last two iterations of the event?

With the foundation that Fiona (TechTogether founder) and Ash (TechTogether Boston 2019 Executive Director) have laid, I hope to build a better bond within the team and make the organizing process more transparent to our hackers. We will have internal workshops for organizers and frequent updates on social media regarding all the aspect of the hackathon planning process. Remember to subscribe to our mailing list for all TechTogether Boston-related news!

Lisa (middle of the top row) with members of the TechTogether Boston 2019 and 2020 Organizing Team and the TechTogether Nonprofit Executive Team

Question 3: What were your goals in recruiting the organizing team for TechTogether Boston 2020? How do you feel that you’ve cultivated a team that will support you in your strengths and weaknesses?

Last year, we had 7 subteams — Technology, Operations, Partnerships, Finance, Marketing, Logistics, and Programming. I decided to reduce this number to four (Technology, Operations, Partnerships, and Marketing) for easy management and allowing a better flow for task assignment. This meant that each subteam would be larger and more tasks would be allocated to each team. Thus, I needed to find some solid subteam directors.

When I started reaching out to potential teammates, my goal was simple — recruit those who have a passion for tech and the mission of our organization, i.e, to make tech more accessible to gender-marginalized populations in the industry. It was a pleasant surprise after I invited the sub-team directors to join the organizing team. Even though it has been only one month since we started, everyone has gone above and beyond, allowing us to resume our online presence immediately. I also set a two-day rule, which means everyone is allowed a maximum of two days of not responding to a Slack* message (fortunately, we haven’t needed to enforce this rule yet).

*Slack is an application built to support team collaboration and increase work efficiency

Question 4: Do you have any other exciting news that you want to share with us?

Watch out for our TechTogether Boston 2020 theme! The team has decided on the direction for our 2020 event, and I can’t wait for everyone to know it and join the fun!

I also want to take this opportunity to introduce the brilliant minds behind TechTogether Boston 2020. Our team spans across North America, from California to Massachusetts, and even Canada! Some studying Computer Science, some studying Design, but all of them have a mission to make TechTogether Boston 2020 an amazing event for everyone.

TechTogether Boston 2020 Organizing Team

Thank you to Lisa for sitting down with us and sharing your vision! We couldn’t be more excited for TechTogether Boston 2020 and are so grateful for your hard work and endless dedication. If you enjoyed what you read, follow TechTogether on Medium and subscribe to our mailing list below!

--

--

Eva Lynch
TechTogether

Former TechTogether Organizer and Google SPS Alum