Participant Story: Ingrid

Techtonica
Techtonica
Published in
3 min readFeb 1, 2019
Photo credit: Erin Mahoney

Ingrid is one of the participants of our six-month software engineering program! She sat down with Techtonica volunteer Mel Burke to share her story. You can support her journey at techtonica.org/donate.

Tell us a little about where you’re from and where you grew up.

I’m from Central America (Guatemala) and grew up in the Mission District in San Francisco. The Mission dramatically changed when I was getting ready to leave high school. That’s when the words “displacement” and “gentrification” and “yuppy” started in that area. It was difficult for me because a lot of my friends and neighbors had to leave the neighborhood.

A lot of people resisted that change through art, music, and theater. I was a part of a group called Loco Bloco which was a Brazilian drum and dance group. We did theater and art and it really helped me keep it together. It’s kinda like I lost my community because everybody was dispersed throughout the Bay Area.

What made you decide to apply for Techtonica?

I was inspired to apply for Techtonica because I wanted to know more about coding and was very curious on how things worked in a webpage. I got my AA in graphic design and collaborated with a friend on her webpage. Neither of us were coders. It was a lot of reading and working with WordPress.

Another friend came to the rescue at the end, but I was blown away that you can manipulate a web page like that. It was fun and very challenging, so I decided to go to CCSF and take HTML/CSS classes. I especially wanted to learn JavaScript but could never make it work with my schedule. So when I saw Techtonica’s flyer posted near my neighborhood, I saw a great opportunity to expand my skills.

What are you most excited to learn while in the program?

I was really inspired after hearing everyone’s pitches and stories. I’m very happy that such an inclusive program exists. I’m excited to learn more about JavaScript and animating. When I found out that you can use JavaScript with motion graphics I was like, “Wow, it’s all connected!”

Is there anything you want to change about the tech industry specifically?

Yes, I wish there was more programs available that were inclusive and affordable. When the second wave of the tech boom came to San Francisco, many of the residents did not have the education or tools to join the tech workforce. In the future, I would definitely look to help others get started by mentoring or volunteering. There are a lot of people who are interested but they just don’t know how to get their foot in the door.

Some tech companies have volunteered in local communities, but I think it would be great if more would do something for the greater good. Not just moving into an area and taking it over. When you go on a trip and go to the trip — it’s not your beach. It’s there to share with everybody.

What’s your dream project?

I want to build my own organization to uplift other women and help teach media and coding skills, in either The Mission or Guatemala. I think it’s needed, especially in Guatemala for women who identify as indigenous because there are 20 languages spoken in the country — not just Spanish. That’s a huge group that’s been marginalized.

Photo credit: Tony DiPasquale

You can see Ingrid tell her story at our launch celebration here.

If you or your company might be interested in supporting program participants like Ingrid, please donate at techtonica.org/donate or take a look at techtonica.org/sponsor.

--

--

Techtonica
Techtonica

Free tech training and job placement for local women and non-binary adults in need. Fiscally sponsored by Social Good Fund.