Participant Story: Oubah

Techtonica
Techtonica
Published in
3 min readFeb 6, 2019
Photo credit: Erin Mahoney

Oubah is one of the participants of our six-month software engineering program! She sat down with Techtonica volunteer Mel Burke to share her story. You can support her journey at techtonica.org/donate.

Tell us a little about where you’re from and where you grew up.

I grew up Northern part of Somalia, which is now known as Somaliland. Being a woman in Somalia and having a dream, you have to fight a battle against your community. Nobody will believe in you; you have to believe in yourself all the way. The first time somebody believed in me is when I came to America.

What made you decide to apply for Techtonica?

I applied for Techtonica because it fit me. I didn’t have to alter myself. When I was looking for a bootcamp in San Francisco, they were all super expensive. I was out here by myself and I didn’t have support from my family. I went to the library and found out about Techtonica and was like, “This is the opportunity I’ve been dreaming of.”

Over the past six years, I went to school but always had to stop after a few credits. Living in the Bay Area is expensive and, I used to think to myself, “If someone could just pay to help me out, I could really focus.”

This program is a blessing and I’m going to accept it.

What are you most excited to learn while in the program?

I have a business idea and I wanted to make a product that I would sell online. So I went to see how much it would cost to hire someone to make a website for me, and it was expensive. So then I tried to learn myself. The last 6 months I was on all the websites trying to learn how to code and actually I liked it. And I’m already good at languages — I speak 3 — that this is just another language to learn. It’ll be nice to do my website.

Is there anything you want to change about the tech industry specifically?

If I could disrupt one area it would be social media, like Facebook. I believe it lowers people’s confidence because they are always comparing themselves to one another. You get on a social network and everything’s bad, at the end of the day it feels like the world’s about to end.

What’s your dream project?

I want to build an e-commerce website for a product idea I have.

Photo credit: Tony DiPasquale

You can see Oubah tell her story at our launch celebration here.

If you or your company might be interested in supporting program participants like Oubah, please donate at techtonica.org/donate or take a look at techtonica.org/sponsor.

--

--

Techtonica
Techtonica

Free tech training and job placement for local women and non-binary adults in need. Fiscally sponsored by Social Good Fund.