Participant story: Joslyn (she/her)

Techtonica
Techtonica
Published in
3 min readJul 22, 2022

“My ultimate dream project is to create an application that focuses on helping the Latinx community embrace therapy and improve their mental health.”

A headshot of Joslyn, a brown-eyed Latina woman smiling on a simple white background. She is looking at the camera with an open-lipped smile. She has dark brown hair and is wearing a deep teal, button-up, collared shirt.

1) Tell us a little about your life.
I was born and raised in Los Angeles, California by a single mother of two. My family is from Honduras and Mexico and both my parents immigrated to the United States in order to provide a better life for themselves and future generations. I moved to Sacramento in 2012 and attended UC Davis where I received a degree in human development and Chicano studies, with a minor in education. Since graduating, I have worked for several community-based organizations that have continued to foster my passion for helping my community.

2) What made you decide to pursue a software engineering career and apply for Techtonica?
I decided to pursue software engineering because I want to have a career that makes me feel fulfilled and encourages innovation and creativity. The tech industry has an impact on communities around the world and I want to be a part of that. I am committed to being a lifelong learner and would like to work in a field that is not stagnant, challenges me to use my knowledge in order to solve problems, and has various opportunities for growth. I applied to Techtonica because their mission and values really resonated with me. I am a strong believer in diversity, inclusion, and empowering people of marginalized genders to achieve their dreams. I find it very inspiring to be part of a program that does everything in its power to see its applicants succeed.

3) What are you most excited to learn while at Techtonica?
I am extremely excited about the whole Techtonica experience! Being part of a hands-on program alongside a diverse group of people is something I am really looking forward to. Most importantly, I am excited about the challenges and the opportunity to work with new technologies and learn the technical skills necessary to create software that can have a positive social impact.

4) What do you want to contribute to or change about the tech industry?
As a queer Latinx individual, my experiences have shaped the way I view the world. They have shown me the importance of collaboration, inclusion, and the power of persistence even in spaces you might not be accepted in. Through these experiences, however, I have also witnessed that there can be limitations to accessibility and understanding of tech. My goal is to not only increase diversity and representation in the tech industry, but to help create software that can breach the technological gap between affluent and marginalized communities.

5) What’s your dream project?
There are several projects I would love to work on, but my ultimate dream project is to create an application that focuses on helping the Latinx community embrace therapy and improve their mental health. There are several applications that already provide mental health services, but none that focus on the Latin American experience. Through this app, I hope to help destigmatize and make therapy more accessible for underrepresented communities. My goal is to incorporate journey-based therapy sessions, online counseling, and an open forum for community support. I’ve already begun to draw and design this project and I’m very excited to be able to fully program it and see it come to fruition.

--

--

Techtonica
Techtonica

Free tech training and job placement for local women and non-binary adults in need. Fiscally sponsored by Social Good Fund.