Participant story: Kimberly (she/her)

Techtonica
Techtonica
Published in
3 min readJul 26, 2022

“I want a career where there are unlimited opportunities to grow and where I can be creative and work collaboratively with people around the world to make positive changes.”

Photo of Kimberly, an Asian woman, from the chest up. She is looking at the camera with an open-lipped smile. She is wearing red lip gloss, with a green top. Her hair is long and black with the left side of her hair behind her shoulder.

1) Tell us a little about your life.
I was born and raised in San Diego, California and recently moved to Orange County, California. My parents are refugees from Vietnam and I am the middle child of 2 sisters. I have a background in public health and I love working to help others. I had thought a career in healthcare was for me, but after the pandemic it wasn’t fulfilling and I ultimately felt limited. Therefore, I am excited for a new change and to pursue a new career where I can learn and grow.

2) What made you decide to pursue a software engineering career and apply for Techtonica?
After declining my dental school offer, I decided to look into other careers where I could still make an impact, keep learning new things, and grow as a person. I started watching videos of people in the tech field and I decided to dip my toes into the coding world. I practiced coding from watching videos and using an online programming course, and coding eventually became something I was looking forward to after work. I decided to try to get into software engineering because I wanted a career where there are unlimited opportunities to grow and where I can be creative and work collaboratively with people around the world to make positive changes. After noticing Techtonica on an apprenticeship website, I knew I wanted to apply to the program because they empower people like me. I felt confident Techtonica would give me a better chance at transitioning into the tech field by providing resources, eliminating my barriers so I could focus on my career, and allowing me to work with real people in their community, which I felt I could not get from other programs.

3) What are you most excited to learn while at Techtonica?
I am excited to learn how to properly program and create a style that suits my present skills, one that will allow me to get better while enjoying the process of constant learning. Also, I look forward to building up my skills and creating realistic projects while bringing my own ideas to life. I’m looking forward to working with people with goals like mine and to gaining more knowledge about the tech industry.

4) What do you want to contribute to or change about the tech industry?
I want to show others how someone like me from the health field can transition into a whole new field in technology. To be able to bring representation is something I’d also like to contribute as well as the idea of going into your second career. Although coding was initially intimidating, I hope it will be a rewarding career where I can make real, positive changes to people’s lives.

5) What’s your dream project?
Something I have in mind but isn’t solidified yet is about accessible healthcare. I want to be able to help others in similar communities and provide them a source where they can achieve better health. Another project I want to build is something connecting people around the world with budget and environmentally-friendly skin care. This one brings me back to my childhood and how I always wanted clearer skin, but I never had the money for high-end products.

--

--

Techtonica
Techtonica

Free tech training and job placement for local women and non-binary adults in need. Fiscally sponsored by Social Good Fund.