Personal Anti-Racism Update

Michelle Glauser
Techtonica
Published in
6 min readJun 18, 2021

Last year, I committed to learning better anti-racist allyship. Doing social impact work inclusively and intentionally is so important to me, and as the nonprofit initiative I started, Techtonica, mostly serves BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, people of color), it’s especially important that I as a leader am aware of and working to eliminate bias. I had learned a lot but wanted to do better. I’m giving an update here so people know that I took that commitment seriously and am dedicated to continuously learning and improving long-term. I also hope that sharing my journey is helpful to others.

Last year, as promised, I:

Also as promised, I read all the articles and books and watched all the videos listed at bit.ly/ANTIRACISMRESOURCES, which has nearly 200 resources. Some highlights include:

Since making those commitments last year, I also:

And I watched:

And read:

With each new action, I have hope that better informing and involving myself will contribute to an anti-racist future. Of course, becoming actively anti-racist is a long-term individual and shared journey. I commit to staying on that path and invite others to do the same. Over the next year, I will:

I’ll also read or watch:

Thank you to everyone who has shared their experiences with me, sent me resources, patiently held space or joined me for this journey, generously forgiven, acted as good examples, and more. Having such a meaningful personal focus has been humbling, infuriating, painful, enlightening, and hopeful. I’m grateful for the continued opportunity to fill in my anti-racism knowledge gaps, reflect on past actions, make amends, and work to make myself and the world better. ❤️

--

--

Michelle Glauser
Techtonica

Founded @TechtonicaOrg to empower women/enby folks in need w/ tech skills. Ex-Twilio devs, #ILookLikeAnEngineer ads, @pyladiessf lead, HB. She/her. 🚲🍪📚