A Case for a Naked Phone

Let your phone be free from the restraints of the plastic and rubber prisons.

Paul Alvarez
Techuisite

--

Photo by Bagus Hernawan on Unsplash

I don’t know about you, but I have always been in love with the industrial designs of smartphones. The iPhone XS Max is a delightful mesh of steel and glass with a large bezel-less screen (minus the notch) that makes my geeky heart, beat with excitement every time I pick it up.

Covering it up with rubber and plastic seems so wrong. But I do understand the need.

My iPhone is a 256GB version with a whopping $1,249 price tag. That is a lot of money, regardless of whatever you are buying. I am currently on the iPhone Upgrade Progam, which I might end soon (more on that in a later post), so I didn’t have to pay that much upfront. But over time, I will be spending that whole $1249 amount. The possibility of it breaking and needing to be replaced is terrifying.

Most of the time you won’t need to replace your phone but repair it, here is how Apple prices there repair services for the current iPhone XS Max:

If you broke the glass on the device without AppleCare+ it would cost:

  1. $329 for the front glass (XS $279, XR $199)
  2. $599 for the back glass (XS $549, XR $399)

--

--

Paul Alvarez
Techuisite

Full-time job in IT, all the time husband, and Dad to two son and two cats. I also like to write.