AirPods Have Changed My Life

Mostly for good, but in some ways, for bad.

Paul Alvarez
Techuisite

--

Since I purchased my first pair of AirPods at the end of 2018, they have been in my pocket almost every day.

Not only have they been in my pocket, but one is usually in my ear most of the day as well. As soon as I get up, I often pop one in. Then when going to bed, I pop it out when I am falling asleep.

In 2019 I probably listened to more podcasts, audiobooks, and music than any other year. You can see in my usage in the last ten days that I have listened to over 50 hours of audio almost exclusively using my AirPods.

I listen to a lot of podcasts, and lately, a lot of YouTube in the background as well. Usually, all of the usage for YouTube would fall under podcasts, making podcasts around ~45 hours of listening but have been on a YouTube Premium trial to test it out.

Music is usually more and is also being taken up by YouTube usage, and I have also been taking a break on books after reading (and listening to) over 24 of them last year.

Still, a total of 50 hours of audio over ten days is a lot. And I honestly don’t know if I…

--

--

Paul Alvarez
Techuisite

Full-time job in IT, all the time husband, and Dad to two son and two cats. I also like to write.