My Desire For Retro Tech

Becoming a parent or maybe getting older is making me miss and want some of my previous beloved gadgets.

Paul Alvarez
Techuisite

--

Very soon I will be a parent to a second child. My wife is currently 37 weeks pregnant and to say we are excited would be an understatement. With that excitement also comes some anxiousness and I feel like researching and buying old tech is my therapy right now.

Some may not think all of these items that I am desiring are considered retro but for me it is. A lot of times the word retro is used more for gaming, but now that I am in my mid-30s and some of the gadgets that I miss and love are now 20+ years old, I consider them retro.

With our new baby coming, a lot of other things are going on right now. Some health concerns with family members, work is insanely busy, and my wife is in nesting mode so our house is currently under minor construction– paint, custom shelving, remodeled fireplace, furniture replacements, etc.

So scrolling through YouTube videos of people buying and using old iPods, ThinkPads, iPhones, and MacBooks has become a place of comfort and peace for me. The problem is, it has also led me to buy or bid on some things I don’t necessarily need.

--

--

Paul Alvarez
Techuisite

Full-time job in IT, all the time husband, and Dad to two son and two cats. I also like to write.