My iPad Dilemma is Settled

Trying to find the perfect iPad was a struggle, but I think I finally found it.

Paul Alvarez
Techuisite

--

iPad Pro 10.5-inch showing homescreen on a leather mat.
iPad Pro 10.5-inch

Let me start by saying that the iPad Mini is a great iPad, and after trying it out twice, I have finally accepted that it is not for me. Like the iPhone 12 Mini, the size and weight of the iPad Mini are perfect. I can throw it in my bag with an Apple Pencil and not even know it is there.

The iPad Mini is great for reading, note-taking, and consuming media. Most iPads share these features, but the laminating screen and size for reading and handwriting are hard to beat compared to the Mini. After reading all of this, you might wonder why it didn’t work for me if I can give it so much praise.

The answer: ProMotion

It seems silly, but it is true. I also found that the Mini screen size was limiting when not using the Apple Pencil or reading Kindle books. Reading webpages or my RSS feeds in Reeder 5 felt a little too small sometimes. Also, iPadOS still bothers me in how it places the apps on the home screen; the margins when in…

--

--

Paul Alvarez
Techuisite

Full-time job in IT, all the time husband, and Dad to two son and two cats. I also like to write.