Nintendo Switch vs. Switch Lite

My comparison of the modular versus handheld-only consoles.

Paul Alvarez
Techuisite

--

Switch regular on top and Switch Lite underneath on wood table.
Switch v Switch Lite.

Since my wife bought me a Switch on Father’s Day, I have transitioned from my Gameboy Pocket, which I played almost daily, to Zelda on the Switch. I was playing Tears of the Kingdom, but I wanted to get more practice in Breath of the Wild and finish it before continuing.

So far, it has been excellent. Not only has playing Zelda again been great, especially coming from a tiny screened Gameboy and the original Pokemon game, but I have also loved sitting on my bed and playing in a more comfortable setting. Playing the Switch on a 55-inch 4K TV takes game playing to a whole new level — I know I am probably preaching to the choir here, but this is fairly new for me, who doesn’t game that much.

Even with my great setup with the Switch, I still like to take the Switch out of the dock and play handheld quite a bit. Even for long periods, I am accustomed to having the Switch in my hands and playing. Growing up with Gameboys has caused me to appreciate having my game right there in front of me in my palms.

--

--

Paul Alvarez
Techuisite

Full-time job in IT, all the time husband, and Dad to two son and two cats. I also like to write.