Reviewing Technology

I am beginning to realize the flaws in some YouTube tech reviews.

Paul Alvarez
Techuisite

--

Photo by Beyzanur K.

I recently purchased a MacBook Pro. I know, I know. I said I wasn’t going to; that I didn’t need one, etc., etc. But I saw an opportunity and I jumped on it. It was a spur-of-the-moment decision, and so far, I have not regretted it. As I count down the days of my return window, I am constantly using it and ensuring it is something I want to keep — so far, the answer is yes.

In helping me decide whether I wanted to keep the beautiful Space Black M3 Pro MacBook Pro, I started watching and reading a ton of reviews online to compare this model with other options, including different configurations of the MacBook I got, and comparing it to the MacBook Air to see if what I got is overkill.

The more I watched YouTube videos, the more unhelpful they seemed to become. I started to notice a pattern that I think most people see, but it didn’t really dawn on me until I was around 5–6 videos deep. Most YouTube Tech reviewers are in a constant loop, here is an example with some of the MacBook reviews I watched:

Step 1: Buy or get a review unit of a new MacBook.

Step 2: Use the MacBook so you can create content about that MacBook.

--

--

Paul Alvarez
Techuisite

Full-time job in IT, all the time husband, and Dad to two son and two cats. I also like to write.