Specs Don’t Matter

Focus on the job, not the tool.

Paul Alvarez
Techuisite

--

2017 MacBook Pro on dark brown dining room table with window and lace curtains in background.
2017 MacBook Pro

After using my 6-year-old MacBook Pro for 3 months, I decided to do a quick follow-up. I could have titled this post as “Is A 2017 MacBook Worth It In 2023?” but instead, I thought I would talk more about why this MacBook reminds me how technology specs really don’t matter.

Of course, this is coming from my perspective, as I use my MacBook Pro as a writing machine. I do some photo editing with RAW images and, at times, use Affinity Designer, but those are the most intense tasks on this machine. Mostly I am typing text on a screen or going over my finances in a spreadsheet.

I started diving into SwiftUI recently, and watching Xcode bounce around on my dock for a few minutes is a little annoying, but once I am in, I don’t see any slowness at all. Photos also throws a beach ball sometimes when I go into editing mode with a RAW formatted image, but this is also short-lived, and once I am in, I have no more delays.

Benchmarks and side-by-side task comparisons can be useful and entertaining to watch, but true, real-life…

--

--

Paul Alvarez
Techuisite

Full-time job in IT, all the time husband, and Dad to two son and two cats. I also like to write.