5 reasons why TEDxKobe was awesome

Louise
TEDx Experience
Published in
5 min readJun 11, 2015

On Sunday May 24th, TEDxKobe was held for the first time ever. It was awesome. Here are 5 reasons why.

(By the way, did you know that the first ever TED talk session (not TEDx, which is independently organised, but “official” TED) to be held outside the US was here in Kobe in May 1993? That is awesome in itself.)

5. The cool seats

It sounds stupid, but the ultra-comfy seats at the front did wonders to contribute to the laid-back, open atmosphere. I was lucky enough to nab one in two sessions out of three, and although it made standing ovations a bit more difficult to participate in, it was worth it. I am half regretting getting a run-of-the-mill sofa for my lounge…

TEDxKobe 2015

4. The book exchange

TEDx is all about “Ideas worth spreading”. Not only by the speakers, but by the “audience” becoming active participants, which I’ll write more about later. One great way TEDx allowed everyone to share their ideas was through a book exchange- pick one book that means something to you or that you enjoyed, put it in a brown envelope, and write about the book. No judging a book by its cover! I’m ashamed to say that my pitiful lack of actual, physical books prevented me from bringing one, but there were some left over at the end so I hoped that the book fairies wouldn’t mind too much if I took a couple… I couldn’t resist a book that someone had written about saying “9 out of 10 people who read this cry”. It turned out to be a manga about things that dogs teach us (犬が教えてくれたこと). I haven’t started it yet but I will definitely see if I cry!

TEDxKobe 2015 book exchange books

They also had a part where participants could present their favourite books. The person I happened to sit next to the beginning gave a presentation on his, a book with interviews of people with interesting jobs like “keeper of time”. At the end I asked him the title again, and he gave it to me! I was dead chuffed.

3. The atmosphere

I don’t know how well I can put it across, but the default Japanese style for anything is formal. I didn’t enjoy going to the gigs I’ve been to so far in Japan because I want to be able to sing along and dance and shout things out and go “WOO!” when the time feels right but everyone sits there in silence and claps politely when they should clap politely and laughs when they should laugh. Not at TEDxKobe. Like I said in number (5) the chairs contributed to the open, laid-back atmosphere, but also it was the standing ovations, the chatting with other people in the crowd, and the fact that the event itself was born in America. And the organisers being young and open to fresh new ideas! There was a buzz to the event that I haven’t felt in a long time, and I loved it.

2. The engaging speakers

The theme was “Dive into Diversity” and the speakers were a great reflection of that; with people of different backgrounds, ages, bodies, and fields of expertise. With marriage equality fresh in my mind from the recent Irish referendum it would have been great to hear a rare Japanese gay perspective, but through a video we heard from an American man about his struggles and how they contributed to his life- “build meaning, forge identity”. One talk that was particularly new for me was by a lady with two artificial legs, who started her slot with her changing into high heels, described how she challenged herself to wear artificial legs with high heels, and finished by singing a song with her wonderful voice. Other speakers talked about racial diversity, and one man even talked about his research involving cutting cockroaches’ heads off! Not my ideal job but he seemed to enjoy it, hehe.

A speaker who loves toilets

1. The other participants

Not just the speakers, but also the people listening to the speeches got “PARTICIPANT” name tags.

Louise Dendy- Participant

There was an application process- meaning that if the organisers didn’t think you could add anything to the event you wouldn’t be allowed to attend. In this way it was empowering to feel like you had a role to play in spreading the ideas and taking part.

There was an after-party at the end, which was a great chance to get to know some of the other participants.

A cool mini sake cup made just for the occasion

They were as diverse as the speakers and it was fascinating to meet a carer, a graphic designer, a book fanatic, a tech startup businessman… the list goes on. It was a similar format to many parties I’ve been to before, but it led to the most meaningful and varied conversations, largely due to us having so many opinions to share about the wide range of talk topics!

TEDx gave me a chance to hear perspectives that I’ve never really thought about before, especially in terms of disability. And that, for me, is what diversity is all about- new perspectives. A diverse atmosphere is a place where people with different viewpoints, different experiences and different ways of life can come together and share, so that we can learn from each other. Although the word can be overused in a business context, I think the concept is a really important one which leads to new ideas and more open minds.

I’m already looking forward to TEDxKobe 2016!

Dive into Diversity

Originally published at britinkobe.wordpress.com on June 3, 2015.

--

--