Schondrasti

TEDx GujaratUniversity
TEDxGujaratUniversity Blog
3 min readApr 11, 2018

Gaurang Patel

schondrasti with Rj Vashishth

Hi…. I am often known as schondrasti (german word schon means beautiful and drasti is an Indian word meaning vision). This name was attributed to me because my colleagues believed that I had the vision that I could also execute in a way that was pleasing to all. My name is Gaurang Patel and I am an enthusiast artist with knowledge of photography, cinematography and an editor.

So, what is my contribution at TEDxGujaratUniversity?

As being an enthusiast artist I am always ready to do some different shoot which are challenging. I remember that one day I met with my faculty Dr.Margie Parikh and ask her for my hometown trip. And I made a travel video of our trip and took some pictures. After that I got call from ma’am that said, “Hey Gaurang! Margie here, I am going to write a Book, so Can you clicks the pictures for my Book?”

I was surprised and I said yes , without giving a second thought to it. We planned the schedule and then started the journey. While clicking pictures I was always skeptical about my mentors liking it or not, I was worried if I was satisfying their needs too. After I wrapped up the shoot I realized that ma’am was happy with the overall execution I did on the field because she looked satisfied.

After a couple of months ma’am called me to her office for a meet, and to my surprise there was one more opportunity in front of me. She asked me if I could lead the camera crew for the TEDx event. And I graciously said yes to this opportunity and formed a team to carry out all the necessary operations for the event.

What was my role in leading the camera crew?

Initially I faced a challenge of conforming the team with the right people who would fit this job profile. I searched and got hold of some amazing people from our college itself and we comprised to form a team and worked together on multiple front. Sagar, Vatsal, Smeet and Hemangi. This was the team I worked with for making all the photographs prior to the main event. They were closely working on keeping all the social media handles up-to-date. But I was sure about hiring a professional for covering the main event because we weren’t highly equipped to shoot or do proper justice to cover the event. After that we met Mr. Ritam Bhatnagar and he offered us a team of videographers so that we could take care of the whole event coverage for the day.

In all the journey, while I was shooting and editing for the speaker videos, I realized at the time of execution that I was never inclined towards this genre of Art. Film making just happened to me and I just realized that I had it all in me to do good justice to all the stories that I wanted to convey with my imagery.

Book your tickets and invite your friends at:

https://goo.gl/pz4ESU

To know more about event, follow:

Website: http://www.tedxgu.co
Facebook: https://www.fb.com/tedxgujaratuniversity
Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/tedxgujaratuni
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tedxgujaratuniversity

And for formal conversations, ping us on tedx1gu@gmail.com

For booking TEDxGujaratUniversity pass: https://allevents.in/ahmedabad/tedx-gujarat-university/139067693432558

--

--