Meet the Teecher: Joan Elbaz

Aggelos Mouzakitis
Teech Blog
Published in
2 min readMay 10, 2017

Who are you?

My name is Joan and I’m 21 years old. I grew up in Paris, France and I am a third year student at McGill in Montreal. I study Political Science, Economics and Chinese. Right now I am doing a semester abroad in Singapore and travelling around South East Asia.

What are you teaching?

Political Science, Economics.

What were you like in high school?

Social and outgoing yet studious and eager to do well in class.

What’s your advice to young students about their dreams, career and studies? As a third year student who still doesn’t know for sure what kind of career she wants to pursue later in life, my advice to younger students would be to study what you love and what gives you a sense of purpose. Your university years will really shape your tastes and your identity, academically, but more importantly personally. At the end of the day, your degree will only open doors to you and you will probably end up pursuing a career that wasn’t necessarily what you intended or expected when starting your studies. All the more so as there is a high probability that the the job you will get in the future might not yet exist. So stay open to any opportunity that comes your way and always be prepared to take an unexpected route. I think the one you choose will ultimately be the right one for you.

What inspires you? My travels Good journalism Being around positive, creative people and people who give no matter how little they receive

A penguin walks through that door right now wearing a sombrero. What does he say and why is he here? «Trump kicked me out of my home… Can I crash at your place for a while?»

--

--