Meeting Mr. Jesus; Teenager with a Difference | by Ibukunoluwakinsha Esan

TMO
Teens Meet Outreach
4 min readFeb 2, 2018

Oh yeah, I am excited about writing this because I love Jesus and I am sure you love Him too. Yes, I know your dad is a pastor and your mum is a deaconess, in fact, I know you are the leader of the teenager’s choir in church. But permit me to ask, have you met Mr. Jesus? You are surprised, right? You know something, the fact that you sing in the choir or lead prayer sessions in the teenager’s church does not mean that you have met Jesus.

Years ago, as a young person, I joined the choir department in Jss 1 but I never experienced genuine salvation. In fact, I did not know Jesus well, I was just a church girl who loved going to church, I would go for vigils on Fridays and stay there till Sunday amidst attending rehearsals on Saturday. I performed well in school but after secondary school, i went through many hurdles in life alone because I had not met Jesus. At a point in my life, I felt frustrated and I would pray and fast but still not get satisfied. But one day, I met Mr. Jesus and he settled it once and for all.

As a teenager, one thing that you must strive for in life is to meet Jesus. It is not about being a pastor’s child or going for every service in church. It is about getting genuine salvation and building a relationship with God. Now, let’s take a look at two people in the bible and how they lived their lives.

The first person is Samuel in 1 Samuel 3: 1–21. I’ll quote verse 1

1 Samuel 3:1 And the child Samuel ministered unto the LORD before Eli. And the word of the LORD was precious in those days; there was no open vision.

Note, the bible did not say “and the MAN Samuel “, it says ” and the CHILD Samuel ” Amplified version says and “the BOY Samuel”. This means that Samuel had been serving in the presence of the Lord as a boy but still did not recognise His voice as seen in the verses that follow. This means that you can be an altar boy and not know Jesus!

Now, when Samuel recognized God’s voice, God told him everything he planed to do with Eli and his family. God revealed to him, the things to come. Be that teenager that God would reveal his mystery to, that teenager with a difference.

Now, let’s take a look at verse 19 and 20;

1 Samuel 3:19–20 And Samuel grew, and the LORD was with him, and did let none of his words fall to the ground.

And all Israel from Dan even to Beersheba knew that Samuel was established to be a prophet of the Lord.

God can wrought miracles through you as a teenager, just heed His call.

The other person to be examined is Esther. Even though the name of God was not written in the book of Esther, the power of God reflects in the occurrences there. Esther as a young girl did not defile herself, she kept herself as a virgin till marriage and God used her to rescue the Jews from death.

She fulfilled purpose in fact, I can boldly say that that was the reason God took her to that position. You want to be clear about that? Let’s move to Esther 4:14b

…and who knoweth whether thou art come to the kingdom for such a time as this?

As a teenager, God has created you for a particular purpose but you need to meet Jesus before that purpose can be fulfilled. Samuel and Esther met Jesus as teenagers and they fulfilled purpose in life as they grew into adults. Do you want to meet Jesus? If then, say this word of prayer:

Lord Jesus, I want to meet you, I know you died for me on the cross of Calvary to save me. I want to know you and love you, I want to fulfil your purpose for my life. Today, I accept you as my Lord and personal saviour, come into my heart and dwell in me.

Romans 10:9 That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.

Hallelujah! If you just said that prayer, you just met Jesus…Be a different teenager, be a teenager with a difference.

If you want to know more about the person of Jesus or need someone to talk to, you can always send us a mail via teensmeetonline@gmail.com and have someone trustworthy assigned to you.

Kindly click to follow our page to enjoy more interesting posts.

Originally published at teensmeetonline.com on February 2, 2018.

--

--

TMO
Teens Meet Outreach

A platform for connecting and beautifying teenagers all round