Building Future Physicians: Overcoming Challenges Outside the Classroom

Teja V Surapaneni, MD, MS
Teja’s Books
Published in
2 min readJan 4, 2024

--

I'm happy to inform that the book I wrote for the MCAT Mastery Series, "Biological, Psychological, and Sociological Basis of Behavior for the MCAT," is now available on Amazon. This study guide is intended to provide premedical students worldwide, particularly those who are targeting U.S. medical schools, with a thorough preparation for the MCAT, in addition to our current Biology and Chemistry books.

In accordance with Winston Churchill's advice at the conclusion of my book,

"In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, stand like a rock,"

as I reflect on my trip, I notice similarities between my work as a doctor and life in general. This quotation perfectly captures how I approach both education and medicine.

My journey to become a doctor was not without difficulties. I faced obstacles that many might identify with since I lacked resources, opportunities, and direction. These days, I try to provide what I used to yearn for: a road map to successfully traverse the complexities of life, rather than just knowledge, which is, in my opinion, only 1% of what you need to thrive in life.

A medical career requires more than just academic prowess to pursue. It's about being resilient in the face of obstacles posed by peers or structural hurdles. I urge my students. to overcome these obstacles with the single goal of improving both their own and other people's lives.

I tell the next generation not to let social pressure or doubters intimidate them. It's necessary to speak out against hate, but it's even more important to stand up for others and yourself. Becoming successful in medicine, or any other professional sector, requires more than just memorizing material; it also requires building the resilience to face obstacles in life.

More than just study aids, this book and the forthcoming MCAT practice questions are sources of motivation and empowerment. Always keep in mind that being a doctor is not the only goal as you set out on this demanding yet rewarding road. It's about developing into a healthcare practitioner who is dedicated to both personal growth and the advancement of society, and who can withstand hardship.

--

--