#WeAllFit to launch AI

Lourdes Montalvo
Tekton Labs
Published in
3 min readSep 14, 2019

--

I’m a 24-year-old Peruvian woman working as a Project Manager in Tekton Labs. But I’d love to become a Data Scientist, now why am I working as a Project Manager if I want to be Data Scientist? Because I wanted to see real problems in different sectors and I wanted to understand what the problem the end-user is trying to solve. Because when I was developer I wasn’t involved in the business decision making, which was something very interesting to me.

Each problem will be a different challenge, but knowing how to solve it will bring a unique satisfaction.

My interest in AI began two years ago, in my first hackathon where my team and I developed a web that allowed you to search and filter legal scanned documents about certain topic; we understood that people didn’t read about laws if they can’t see what’s the topic about.

My desire to propose solutions to the problems in different industries grew exponentially. So last year, I found another problem in the healthcare industry based on the inappropriate use of medication in geriatric people.

I’ve analyzed tons of data on drugs and their interactions with other drugs and diseases. I discovered that many geriatric people have multiple diseases at the same time and consume many kinds of drugs, so they have a high probability to face an adverse effect. For that reason, I had to introduce myself to the medical world in order to understand and analyze deeply the interactions between medications. The proposed solution provided a more personalized combination of medications according to the patient’s medical history using a bayesian network and genetic algorithms.

As you can tell, I really want to be a Data Scientist because I enjoy diving into different industries like healthcare, legal, agriculture, finance, education; using aggregating data from different sources and interpreting/understanding that data.

I want to combine business analysis with AI

AI is about using data to create as much impact as possible for the final user. This impact could be in the form of insights, data products or product recommendations. It is really amazing to predict the future with numbers, and identify patterns that could describe what people are doing and then decide what I’m going to launch.

So I believe I could be a great leader in AI because I want to solve real problems and see how people behave and make decisions in their areas. Finally, I also want to motivate and educate people in AI as well as how to use it in their business proposals.

www.akademy.ai

#WeAllFitWomenScholarship

--

--